(Flat Rock, MI-September 6, 2014): Despite heavy rains overnight, Flat Rock Speedway roared to life Saturday night for the School Bus Figure 8 show. The big crowd was treated to an action-packed night of racing and fun events. A very wet infield area made for some exciting action the entire evening.

Archie Padgett claimed top honors in the finale’ of the evening, the School Bus Figure 8 race. Several laps into the event, a series of incidents all took part on the same lap. 2014 Street Stock champ Rob Moore got tagged hard at the intersection, while another bus blew a tire with a loud boom. And seconds later, Jack Franzil dropped his bus over on its side with a large thud as the crowd cheered. Franzil emerged from his bus as the fans roared their approval. Padgett took the checkered flag over Dan Apperson, Terry Smith, Scott Apperson, Billy Earley, Moore and Franzil. Bus sponsors included Sportway Batting Cages/Go-Karts/Mini Golf of Brownstown and Westland, Jet’s Pizza of Flat Rock, Jani-King, A & M Transmission of Flat Rock, Hopculture, LLC, Bayou Grille of Belleville and the Glass City 200.

The track’s Street Stock class hit the track for a 25 lap main event, with Scott Selmi notching his first win of the year. Selmi took the lead in the closing laps, using the outside groove to get around Clyde McKee to score the win. McKee was second, Rob Randa third, Guy Fire fourth and Kyle Worley fifth, followed by Rob Liedel (in Rob Moore’s car), Corey Duane, Joe Haener, Don Roberts, William Lauria, Charlie Owens, Pete Shrake and Rich Abel. With no qualifying for this show, a blind draw for the heat races was implemented. Selmi, Fire and McKee captured the heat race wins. A wild wreck in the first heat took Greg Studt and Lonnie York out for the night. Both drivers were ok.

Billy Earley had quite a night-his father, Gary, and his son, Travis all competed against each other for the first time, marking 3 generations of racers. Billy started his evening by taking the win in the 20 lap Figure 8 contest in a great battle with Greg Studt. Chuck Pankow led the event at the start until Earley and Studt motored by. That set up a great duel for the pair as they narrowly avoided intersection crashes, much to the delight of the fans. Billy held on for the win, and Greg presented the trophy to Billy in the 7-Up Winner’s Circle. Scott Apperson was third, David Katafiasz fourth and Gary Earley came out of retirement and took fifth spot. Pankow, Archie Padgett, Joe Vanderhoof, Guy Fire and Jeremy Fragazzi completed the finishing order. Earley also captured the heat win.

Billy continued his good fortune by out-gunning Padgett for the win in the Flag Pole race. Guy Fire, Gary Earley and Pete Shrake were the top 5 finishers. Padgett took the Road Rage race over Trina Apperson, Travis Earley and Erik McGregor.

Another driver that had a good night was Padgett, as he also notched a victory in the wild Boat Figure 8 contest over Jacob Thomas, Jeremy Fragassi, Billy Earley and Bill Carberry.

The final race of 2014 at Flat Rock Speedway is set for next Saturday, September 13. The 300 lap Enduro Series championship race will highlight the night. More racing action is set as the Michigan Legends, MCR Dwarf Cars and a first-time visit from the Bandaleros will also be a part of the race card.

Fans with ticket stubs from the September 6 bus race can present their ticket on September 13 at the track and receive admission for just $5. The pit gates open at 3, practice begins at 4, time trials are at 5 and racing begins at the special start time of 6 p.m. The front gates and ticket office will open at 4 p.m.

– Flat Rock Speedway Press Release

Huge Crowd Jams Flat Rock Speedway