Hudson Takes CRA Street Stock Triple Crown Finale

Salem, IN — Owensboro, Kentucky native Brett Hudson put on a clinic in winning Saturday night’s AERCO Heating and Cooling 150 Presented by CB Fabricating for the Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks Powered by JEGS. Hudson patiently rode through the first half of the race, then started to pressure leader Jason Atkinson after the lap 75 break, then started looking for a way to get around Atkinson starting on lap 100. Atkinson slipped up the track on lap 111 giving Hudson the lane he needed to make the pass, then cruised to the win by just over three seconds.


“This car was on a rail all day,” remarked Hudson in victory lane. “I just rode the first half of the race to save tires and to have a good car for the end. I knew we would have a good shot to get the win if I was patient. That paid off at the end, the car was good from the time it came off the trailer. I have to thank my team and my family for all their hard work and support!”


The win Saturday makes it two in a row for Hudson in 2020 after getting the win in the series last event, the Triple Crown event at Shadybowl Speedway. Hudson also swept both those events in 2019.


Royce Harmon got the early lead from his outside front row starting position after Hudson drew a nine for the events inverted start after being the Allstar Performance Fast Qualifier of the 30 cars on hand for the event. Atkinson worked his way up from his sixth place starting position to grab the lead from Harmon on lap 21. Atkinson led through the lap 75 10-minute break.


Atkinson grabbed the lead again on the green flag after the break, but Hudson had worked his way to Atkinson’s bumper from his ninth place starting position, and began applying some pressure to the former two time series points Champion and current points leader. Hudson patiently waited the opening that would lead to his win. For his pass for the win Hudson earned the AR Bodies Cool Move of the Race Award.


Atkinson would finish in second, earning him the Triple Crown Championship and the $1,000 bonus that goes with that. Atkinson was the 2014 and 2015 Triple Crown Champion and won last years Four Crown Championship. For his efforts on Saturday, Atkinson picked up the KRJ Race Products Sweet Move of the Race Award.


Former Triple Crown Champion Chuck Barnes Jr. finished in third place. Leading series Rookie Brandon Roberts finished in fourth place. Chad Pendleton rounded out the top five.


Ryan Amonett finished eighth which was enough to give him second place in the Triple Crown and the $600 bonus that goes with that. Alan Williams Jr. finished in sixth place after starting in 24th. Williams finished third in the Triple Crown points and received a $400 bonus for that. Josh Poore and Dale Harper picked up the random draw $250 bonuses from the drivers who competed in all three Triple Crown events in 2020.


The next Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks event will be the first race in that series 2020 Chase for the Championship on Labor Day Weekend at Mt. Lawn Speedway. More information on all the CRA Series can be found at


-CRA Press Release
-Photo Credit: Speed51 Photo

Hudson Takes CRA Street Stock Triple Crown Finale