Petty, TX – Philip Houston notched his second United States Modified Touring Series victory of the 2015 campaign as the USMTS Casey’s Cup powered by S&S Fishing & Rental invaded the new East Texas Speedway for the first time Thursday night.

Despite leading all 40 laps on the high-banked 3/8-mile dirt oval, the 38-year-old from Odessa, Texas, was never able to take a breath as several drivers took their turns at taking his place.

“I could hear somebody the whole time,” the cheerful winner said in victory lane. “I didn’t know who it was. Somebody punted me down the front stretch once, so I knew they were there.”

Early on, Houston was tested by polesitter Clyde Dunn Jr. and then, for most of the race, Bobby Malchus churned the cushion on the high side of the track and hoping Houston would make a mistake and give him the opening he needed.

He never got the chance.

“I was just trying to hit my marks every time-hit my line and just try and stay clean,” Houston added. “After the week we’ve had, we needed this one.”

As the laps wound down, Double H Bands Southern Region points leader Rodney Sanders found himself in the mix with the leaders, running several laps in the middle between Malchus and Dereck Ramirez.

But nobody had an answer for Houston, whose other first USMTS victory came in March during the Winter Meltdown at the Southern New Mexico Speedway.

“When we hot-lapped I said ‘This place feels familiar for some reason,’ and I think it was. It’s a lot like Las Cruces.”

Houston collected $3,000 for his efforts while Sanders, who started ninth, settled for the runner-up spot with Malchus and Ramirez close behind in third and fourth.

Johnny Scott was fifth with Cade Dillard, Dunn, Steve Whiteaker Jr., 22nd-starting Cody Smith and Jesse Sobbing rounding out the top 10 finishers.

USMTS Southern Speedweek continues Friday, June 26, as the Southern Oklahoma Speedway in Ardmore, Okla., hosts the Best of the Best in dirt modified racing for the 13th time since 2008.

Jason Hughes was the winner in 2008 and 2009 at the former Lake Country Speedway. John and Nikki Webb acquired the facility in 2011, breathed new life into the facility and renamed it Southern Oklahoma Speedway.

Since then, Rodney Sanders and Stormy Scott each have three wins, Ryan Gustin has two and visiting victory lane once previously are Johnny Scott and, most recently, Thomas Tillison Jr. who captured the final night of last year’s Halloween Havoc.

Gates open at 5 p.m. and racing gets underway at 7:30 for Friday’s $3,000-to-win event. General admission tickets are $20, seniors and youth ages 6-12 get in for $15 and children under 6 get in for free. Pit passes are $35. Limited Mods and Eco Lim Mods will also be racing.

The Southern Oklahoma Speedway is a semi-banked 3/8-mile clay oval located 0.7 mile east of I-35 (exit 29) on US 70, then 1.8 miles south on US 77. For more information call 405-627-1766 or click to visit the track’s official website.

To learn more about the United States Modified Touring Series, visit online or call 515-832-7944. You can also like us on Facebook at, follow us on Twitter at or subscribe to our YouTube channel at

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Modified Touring Series
USMTS Casey’s Cup Series powered by S&S Fishing & Rental – Double H Bands Southern Region presented by Day Motor Sports
Inaugural Event
East Texas Speedway, Petty, Texas
Thursday, June 25, 2015

Showing finishing position, starting position in parentheses, car number, driver, hometown, chassis/engine builder, laps completed and money won. The top 12 drivers in passing points accumulated in the heat races were locked into the “A” Main, with the top 8 re-drawing for starting positions 1-8.

MSD HEAT RACE #1 (8 laps):
1. (1) 1st Johnny Scott, Las Cruces, N.M.
2. (2) 5* Stormy Scott, Las Cruces, N.M.
3. (9) 77 Garrett Gregory (R), Tomball, Texas.
4. (8) 91 Joe Duvall, Claremore, Okla.
5. (3) 38 Ronnie Gould III (R), Seminole, Okla.
6. (7) 68 Brandon Watson, Denison, Texas.
7. (6) 75 Patrick Daniel, Wills Point, Texas.
8. (5) 64 Jay Sale, Edmond, Okla.
9. (4) 22d Daniel Hilsabeck, Adel, Iowa.

1. (3) 4m Bobby Malchus, Red Oak, Texas.
2. (5) 88xxx Clyde Dunn Jr., Sunnyvale, Texas.
3. (1) 2 Grant Junghans, Manhattan, Kan.
4. (4) 24 Sean Jones, Mansfield, Texas.
5. (6) 11 Dustin Allen (R), Enid, Okla.
6. (7) 30 Chase Allen, Midlothian, Texas.
7. (2) 51 Rusty Trevathan Jr., Wylie, Texas.
8. (8) 123 Logan Robertson (R), Shamrock, Texas.

1. (5) 4r Dereck Ramirez, Woodward, Okla.
2. (1) 20 Rodney Sanders, Happy, Texas.
3. (3) 8t Dustin Hyde, Texarkana, Texas.
4. (4) 23k Ben Kates (R), Tonganoxie, Kan.
5. (7) 2 Casey Arneson (R), Fargo, N.D.
6. (8) 49s Caleb Shown, Hooks, Texas.
7. (6) 99 Jesse Sobbing (R), Malvern, Iowa.
8. (2) 7x Rory Jordan, Victoria, Texas.

1. (2) 71 Philip Houston, Odessa, Texas.
2. (1) 89c Steve Whiteaker Jr., Corpus Christi, Texas.
3. (6) 97 Cade Dillard, Robeline, La.
4. (7) 5w John O Whittington, Vidor, Texas.
5. (3) 5 Shane Sprinkle, Andrews, Texas.
6. (8) 8 Steve Miller, Rosanky, Texas.
7. (4) 18s Cody Smith, Kaufman, Texas.
8. (5) 751 Rusty Trevathan, Wylie, Texas.

REAL RACING WHEELS “B” MAIN #1 (12 laps, top 5 advance):
1. (1) 2 Grant Junghans, Manhattan, Kan.
2. (2) 24 Sean Jones, Mansfield, Texas.
3. (3) 2 Casey Arneson (R), Fargo, N.D.
4. (8) 99 Jesse Sobbing (R), Malvern, Iowa.
5. (5) 49s Caleb Shown, Hooks, Texas.
6. (10) 7x Rory Jordan, Victoria, Texas, Shaw/Mullins, $90.
7. (6) 68 Brandon Watson, Denison, Texas, GRT/Wornhor, $75.
8. (4) 38 Ronnie Gould III (R), Seminole, Okla., MBCustom/Mullins, $90.
9. (9) 64 Jay Sale, Edmond, Okla., MBCustom/Mullins, $90.
10. (7) 75 Patrick Daniel, Wills Point, Texas, LG2/Wells, $75.
11. (11) 22d Daniel Hilsabeck, Adel, Iowa.


Houston Do You Copy? Time for Some Petty Cash