On Saturday, June 27th, the ARCA Midwest Tour presented by Scag Power Equipment will return to Rockford Speedway for the Kar Korner All-Star 100. When it comes to racing in the Midwest, Rockford Speedway is not only one of the most historic venues in short track racing, but it is home to some of the most historic events in Midwest short track racing.


The foundation of the All-Star 100 began when the event was founded under the ARTGO Challenge Series in 1978 and was the first ‘Tuesday Night Special’ at the time. It ran consecutively from 1978-1992. Legends both past and present raced in the event and included local legends with the likes of Dick Trickle, who won the inaugural event in 1978 and went on to win it three more times in 1980, 1983, and 1986, and Joe Shear who won the event in 1981, 1985, and the final event under the ARTGO banner in 1992. Several notable NASCAR greats also took part in the event. Mark Martin won the race in 1979, Bobby Allison found victory lane in 1984 and additionally, Dale Earnhardt and Neil Bonnet also participated in the event. While no longer a Tuesday night race, its significance has carried on through the years.


The race returned in 2007-2010 under the ASA Late Model Series, and was won by active drivers like Eddie Hoffman, Trent Snyder, and Ross Kenseth. In 2011, current NASCAR driver, Erik Jones, won the event under the JEGS/CRA Series. The ARCA Midwest Tour will revive the prestigious event that was last contested in 2012 on Saturday, June 27th.


While it may not be the original ‘Tuesday Night Special,’ June 27th is sure to be an ‘All-Star Saturday night,’ and one driver’s name will be added to the list of legends.


Spectator gates open at 5:00pm. Qualifying begins at 5:55pm with racing to follow at 7:07pm. The ARCA Midwest Tour will be joined by the Rockford Late Models and Super Cups.


Former Rockford Speedway All-Star 100 Winners
1978 Dick Trickle ARTGO
1979 Mark Martin ARTGO
1980 Dick Trickle ARTGO
1981 Joe Shear ARTGO
1982 Dave Watson ARTGO
1983 Dick Trickle ARTGO
1984 Bobby Allison ARTGO
1985 Joe Shear ARTGO
1986 Dick Trickle ARTGO
1987 Al Schill ARTGO
1988 Butch Miller ARTGO
1990 Larry Schuler ARTGO
1991 Kevin Cywinski ARTGO
1992 Joe Shear ARTGO
2007 Eddie Hoffman ASA Late Models
2008 Trent Snyder ASA Late Models North
2009 Ross Kenseth ASA Late Models North
2010 Ryan Carlson ASA Late Models North
2011 Erik Jones JEGS/CRA
2012 Michael Bilderback Non-Sanctioned


For complete event details, log on to arcamidwesttour.com


Be sure to follow the ARCA Midwest Tour on Facebook (/midwesttour) and Twitter (@midwesttour).


-ARCA Midwest Tour Press Release. Photo credit: Speed51.com

Historic All-Star 100 Returns to Rockford Speedway Saturday