St. Johns, PA – It seems like it wouldn’t be a typical Friday night at Evergreen Raceway without the threat of rain. Luckily, storms blew through early enough in the day for the skies to clear and for the speedway’s racing program to click off without a drop of moisture for Fairway Motors Employee Appreciation Night. When it was all said and done, Matt Hirschman of Northampton remained unbeaten in the American Rental Equipment Modified Series action, as he claimed his third win of the season and the $2,000 prize.


With $1,000 on the line for the winner of the Barbush Automotive Street Stock feature, it was bound to be a barnburner. Randy Schlenker of Whitehall edged Mike Pollock for the win and the cash. Tom Casagrande of Drums held off Stephanie Moyer to claim the Factory Stock victory and even with a three wide pass for the lead, the Evan’s Roadhouse Four Cylinder feature went caution free and Harry O’Neill of Mountaintop took the win.


300x250 Thompson Speedway 2017.10.15 World SeriesFollowing the qualifiers and a redraw, Earl Paules led the Modified field to the drop of the green flag in the 50-lap main event. With three laps in the books, Paules held the point over Austin Kochenash, Roger Coss, Brian Sones and Zane Zeiner.


The first of six quick yellow flags flew when Zeiner spun in turns three and four. The lap four incident slowed the show for a bit and when green flag racing resumed Kochenash took his turn at the race lead over Paules. Meanwhile, Matt Hirschman had worked his way into fourth from his ninth place starting position.


With Kochenash still showing the way at the mid-race point, Hirschman had already slipped into the second spot, followed by Coss, Brian DeFebo and Paules. Hirschman took several looks at the leader and didn’t make a serious bid for the lead.


That all changed 11 laps later when the yellow flag flew for a Bobby Jones spun on the backstretch. Two wide for the restart, Hirschman drag raced Kochenash and had him clear for the lead by the end of the backstretch. With 10 laps to go, Hirschman continued to hold the point over Kochenash. John Fortin, Jr. had climbed into third, followed by Coss and Jon Mandato.


From out of nowhere, Zeiner made the final laps full of excitement. First, he cracked the top five and then overtook Coss for fourth with eight to go. He slipped past Fortin for third on lap 44 and then by Kochenash on the following circuit.


Zeiner ran out of time and Hirschman took his third straight Evergreen win of the season over Zeiner. Fortin, Kochenash and Coss crossed the stripe to complete the top five. However, Fortin was penalized two positions for passing below the line in turns one and two.


Kochenash, Hirschman and DeFebo were heat race winners.


Thanks to Valley Screen Printers, Barbush Automotive and Pallet Liquidation, We talk Shirty and Himmer Graphics, the 50-lap Street Stock feature paid $1,000 for the victory.


After 28 cars attempted to qualify, Scott Adams led the field to the drop of the green flag. He led the opening circuit over Frank Petroski, Rich Paciotti, Mikey Pollock and Bobby Kibler.


With action throughout the entire field and with Adams still showing the way, the caution waved when a big pileup occurred in turn one during a three wide corner entry attempt. It included Dan Pawlicki, Eric Kocher, Rick Reichenbach, Kibler, Joe Arena, Carl Altemose and Josh Shere. Most drivers were able to continue, with the exception of Arena of CT, who was visiting the track for the first time.


Green flag racing resumed and Adams continued to hold the lead. When halfway rolled around Paciotti continued to run second, followed by Randy Ahner, Jr, Randy Schlenker and TJ Gursky.


The top five changed up a bit on lap 37 when Gursky and Paciotti tangled in turn four. The turn of events moved Schlenker up to second for the restart.


When the green went back in the air Schlenker overtook Adams for the top spot. Four laps later Pollock moved by Adams for second.


Pollock tried to keep the leader in his sights as the laps wound down. Even with a one lap shootout to the finish after the final caution, Pollock made one last attempt at the win but fell short by a half car length.


Schlenker took the victory over Pollock, Adams, R. Ahner and Shayne Geist.


Heat race wins went to Adams, Petroski and Pollock. Pawlicki was the consi winner.


Shane Troutman led the Four Cylinder field to the drop of the green flag in the 20-lap feature. He led the first circuit over TJ Kapish, Shawn Kistler, Corey Edelman and Austin Beers. With a lap in the books, Kapish moved to the front. He continued to hold the spot at halfway and Edelman made his way into second.


Harry O’Neill joined the mix of action and made a three wide move stick on lap 16 to snag the lead. He remained out front over the closing laps to take the win in the caution free event over Edelman, Kapish, Kistler and Bob Azarowicz.


Brayden Spencer, Kapish and O’Neill were heat race winner.


The Factory Stocks were back in action for the first time this season. Tom Casagrande started from the pole in the 20-lap show and remained out front to take the checkers over Steph Moyer and Steve Heckman.


Evergreen Raceway will be back in action on the evening of Saturday, August 19 with the running of their “Summer Slam” Enduros, featuring 4-cylider, 6/8-cylinder and minivan Enduros, plus the Outlaw Stocks are on the card.


The pit gates will swing open for all of the series events at 5 PM. The drivers meeting will take place at 6 PM and the Outlaw Stocks will have practice at 6:15 PM. Racing will kick off at 7:00 PM. The grandstands will open at 6 PM.


Grandstand admission for each event is just $5. Pit admission is $25 and the transponder rental fee is $10.


Evergreen Raceway is located minutes from Hazleton, PA, in between routes 93 and 309. For more information regarding Evergreen Raceway, including the entire season schedule, directions and divisional payouts, please visit and don’t forget to like their Facebook page as well.


Evergreen Raceway is proud to be associated with Fairway Motors, Harry’s U Pull It, Penn’s Peak Radio, Sponenberg’s Exhaust, Wheel’s Bar & Grill, CK Auto Service & Race Fab, Himmer Graphics, Evan’s Roadhouse, Bob’s Subs, American Rental Equipment, Barbush Automotive, Valve Tech Sales, Penn’s Peak, Printers Edge &


Evergreen Raceway Unofficial Results

August 18, 2017

Modified (50-laps) 1. MATT HIRSCHMAN 2. Zane Zeiner 3. Austin Kochenash 4. Roger Coss 5. John Fortin, Jr 6. John Mandato 7. Jack Ely 8. Todd Baer 9. John Markovic 10. Mitch Dowd 11. Gene Bowers 12. Earl Paules 13. Blake Barney 14. Rusty Smith 15. Brian Sones 16. Alan Creveling 17.Paul Monkoski 18. Bobby Jones 19. Brian DeFebo


Street Stock (50-laps) 1. RANDY SCHLENKER 2. Mikey Pollock 3. Scott Adams 4. Randy Ahner Jr 5. John Fortin, Jr
Shayne Geist 6. Charlie Castiglione 7. TJ Gursky 8. Rick Reichenbach 9. Rich Paciotti 10. Stacy Brown 11. Josh Schere 12. Jillian Long 13. Todd Ahner 14. Frank Petroski, Jr 15. Bobby Kibler 16. Eric Kocher 17.Joe Arena 18. Dan Pawlicki 19. Carl Altemose 20. Josh Mooney DNQ: Cody Geist, Bobby Hunsicker, Brian Halecki, Cory Swartz, Paul Morgan Jr, Matt Wentz, Justin Morgan, Sam Danahar


Four Cylinder (20-laps) 1. HARRY O’NEILL 2. Corey Edelman 3. TJ Kapish 4. Shawn Kistler 5. Bob Azarowicz 6. Austin Beers 7. Brayden Spencer 8. Joe Barbush III 9. Kyle Krempasky 10. Jake Jones 11. Jon Ayre 12. Shane Troutman 13. Travis Solomon 14. Jay Kanor 15. Jay Skupski 16. Ray Kochin 17.Jeff Van Wickle 18. Zeb Farber 19. Frank Hughes


Factory Stock (20-laps) 1. TOM CASAGRANDE 2. Steph Moyer 3. Steve Heckman 4. Mark Slater 5. Frank Katona 6. Andrew Monkoski 7. Derek Berlitz

Hirschman Stays Undefeated in Evergreen Modifieds