Matt Hirschman drove from his sixth starting spot to win the Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Series race Saturday night at Oswego Speedway in New York, claiming his 11th career win at The Steel Palace. The win was also Hirschman’s fifth in a row in Tour-type Modified competition.


Hirschman passed eventual third-place finisher Mike Leaty after a lap 25 restart and held off a hard charging Patrick Emerling in the closing laps for the win.


300x250 Seekonk Speedway PPV 2017.07.12“Races here are usually won on the draw, but sixth just worked out for us” Hirschman told powered by JEGS, “He (Leaty) was just so tight he couldn’t hold the bottom.  I just had a run and come up underneath him and got by him.  We weren’t great, but we were good. Others were just off. The 07 (Emerling) was our best competition but he spun out in the beginning and had to come from the back.”


Second-place finisher Patrick Emerling was overall satisfied with his result after spinning out on lap 2.


“We didn’t start out with the best track position. We were slicing and dicing and another car came down on me and probably got a little help from behind and ended up going around,” he said of the early incident.  “We had a pretty good car. I think we would’ve had something for the 60 (Hirschman) probably, but just got a little too tight there at the end. But all in all, it was a good points night and a pretty decent night for us.”


For Hirschman, the win was his fifth straight in Modified competition after previous RoC Modified wins at Jennerstown (PA) and Lake Erie (PA), a $10,000 Open Wheel Wednesday win at Seekonk Speedway (MA) and a big money win at Evergreen Raceway Park (PA).


“We’re definitely on a career-best hot streak,” he stated.  “I’ve got to give a lot of credit to the whole team. The preparation, the people at home and at the track. When you’re on a roll and you got momentum on your side and it can carry you for sure, and that’s what we have right now.”


The RoC Modifieds are off next weekend before a doubleheader at Spencer Speedway and Holland International Speedway on July 21 and July 22.


Race fans can find on-demand Trackside Now coverage of Saturday’s race by clicking here.


-By Koty Geyer, Midwest Correspondent

-Photo credit:


RoC Modified Series Unofficial Results

Oswego Speedway (NY) – July 8, 2017

1 60 Matt Hirschman 67
2 07 Patrick Emerling 67
3 25 Mike Leaty 67
4 54 Tommy Catalano 67
5 12 Andy Jankowiak 66
6 32 Tyler Rypkema 66
7 65 George Skora III 66
8 10 Daryl Lewis Jr 66
9 64 Amy Catalano 66
10 59 Karl Hehr 65
11 40 Tommy Rought 62
12 22 Scott Wylie 33
13 45 Timmy Catalano 25
14 3 Daren Scherer 15
15 2 Austin Kochnash 8
16 95 Bryan Sherwood 2

Hirschman Drives to Fifth Straight Modified Victory at Oswego