Nick Heywood finished a close third to first-time J&S Steel Sportsman Modified feature winner Jayson Criss and runner-up Mark Lamberton Sunday to three-peat as Airborne’s Sportsman Modified track champion., Shawn Duquette


Criss took the lead from Jamie LaFountain on lap 20 just as Heywood was using the high side to overtake Codie Aubin for third.


The 2014 Renegade champion was decided at the front of the final 30-lap feature as contenders Robert Gordon and Jamy Begor raced side by side for a dozen laps for the win and the title. Gordon drew out to a two car-length win in the closing laps.


It was the first Airborne title for the Milton, Vt. driver who is Airborne’s all-time Renegade win leader (20). Begor finished second ahead of Josh Terry, Shawn Duquette and Jim McKiernan. Gordon led Begor by a single point at the start of the race.


“I haven’t missed a race here in 13 years and I’ve finished second more than a couple of times, so winning this makes me feel pretty good,” Gordon said. “I have to thank my cousin and crew chief Randy and everyone who helps me out.”


Bucko Branham finished 2nd and 3rd in a pair of Ground Round Late Model 25-lap events, which landed him the 2014 Late Model championship.


-Airborne Park Speedway Press Release

Heywood Three-Peats as Airborne Modified Champion