Jack Hewitt, the winningest USAC Silver Crown driver of all time, returns to competition this Saturday, piloting a Six-R Racing Toyota in the 33rd “4-Crown Nationals” at the Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio.

It’s Jack’s first USAC race appearance since his 2002 Sprint car accident at North Vernon, Ind. and as he says “I’m like a kid counting down to Christmas.”

Jack got to try the car Saturday night during a shakedown run at Waynesfield, Ohio and says the team is making a lot of little “tweaks” in preparation for Saturday’s race. “I’m going to have fun,” he adds, “but I’m also going to do my best. I’ve had so much support from my many fans and I hope they have fun Saturday too. It’s great to be back with Six-R Racing. It’ll be like a stroll down memory lane, but it’ll be interesting since this is my first ride in a Toyota.”

The winner of 23 Silver Crown races, including eight during the “4-Crown,” Jack’s last Silver Crown start came at Terre Haute, Ind. in 2002. His last Silver Crown victory was the Tony Bettenhausen 100 in Springfield, Ill. in 2000.

His last “4-Crown” Silver Crown win closed out one of the most remarkable motor racing achievements of all time, the 1998 event in which he won all four feature events! His 24 Eldora wins in various series is twice Dave Darland’s second-best record of 12 Eldora wins.

Darland is the second leading active Silver Crown winner behind Hewitt, with 14 career wins. He currently ranks eighth in the latest standings.

A 27-point separation exists between series point leader Kody Swanson and runner-up Tracy Hines. Defending series champion Bobby East is similarly 27 points behind Hines.

Chris Windom, fourth in the series points, is the defending winner of the “4-Crown Nationals” Silver Crown race.

Saturday’s Larry Rice “high-performance” awards at the “4-Crown Nationals” are $750 each in memory of the late USAC Champion.

Buck & Betty Rice of ProSource of Grand Saline, Texas will award $200 each for Saturday’s fastest qualifiers in all three series as well as posting a similar award at Thursday night’s Terre Haute USAC Sprint race.

2014 USAC Silver Crown Standings:1-Kody Swanson-483, 2-Tracy Hines-456, 3-Bobby East-429, 4-Chris Windom-361, 5-Jerry Coons Jr.-303, 6-Jacob Wilson-269, 7-A.J. Fike-263, 8-Dave Darland-233, 9-Caleb Armstrong-228, 10-Shane Cockrum-213.

USAC PR – Bill Weir Photo

Hewitt to Return for 33rd 4-Crown Nationals