In the preliminary round of the Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series, Daniel Hemric, Carson Ferguson and Tom Pistone picked up wins, among others. The racing action kicks off the 21st year of Summer Shootout competition.

Carson Ferguson, of Concord, N.C. went wire-to-wire, winning the Legend Car Young Lions division feature by more than two seconds Tuesday at the Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Ferguson, who started third, ran the quickest lap of any racer at 17.030 seconds. Charging late to finish in third was Matt Craig, who raced from seventh to third in just eight laps, finishing just 0.234 seconds ahead of Stevie Johns Jr. Rounding out the top five was Seth Werner, who finished just over five seconds behind Ferguson.

Daniel Hemric, of Kannapolis, N.C., took the first checkered flag of the season in the Legend Car Pro division of the Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series. A five-car inversion sent Hemric back to begin the race fourth instead of second, with Michael Torres leading the starting pack. Hemric steadily moved his way to the lead, passing William Byron going into lap four to take third place. Jordan Black worked his way up to fifth on lap three and stayed there for the duration of the race. Hemric and Byron went on to blow past Gregory Lang in second on lap nine and both ultimately passed leader Torres on lap 15. Hemric held off a hard-charging Byron for the remainder of the race. Byron finished second, Lang took third, Torres claimed fourth and Black rounded out the top five.

CMS PR – photo

The unofficial results:

Legend Car Pro Feature (30 laps): 1. Daniel Hemric; 2. William Byron; 3. Greg Lang; 4. Michael Torres; 5. Jordan Black; 6. Joey Padgett; 7. Steven Cantrell; 8. Kason Plott; 9. Tripp Gerrald; 10. Joe Ryan Osborne; 11. Jared Irvan. 12. Kyle Beattie; 13. Alex Pacheco; 14. Evan Swilling; 15. Zane Smith.

Security Force Legend Car Masters Feature (30 laps): 1. Tom Pistone; 2. John Sossoman; 3. Robby Faggart; 4. Jeff Green; 5. Bruce Silver; 6. Jan Ingram; 7. Shawn Geisel; 8. Chip Ferguson; 9. John Craig; 10. Robbie Woodall; 11. Carl Moberg; 12. Ron Mander; 13. Scott Whitaker.

Quaker Steak & Lube Legend Car Semi-Pro Feature (30 laps): 1. Dylan Faggart; 2. Connor Pyle; 3. Josh Brimbecombe; 4. Riley Halverson; 5. Devin O’Connel; 6. John Holleman; 7. Austin Langenstein; 8. Tyler Truex; 9. Josh Turner; 10. Craig Biryla; 11. Jake Tretow; 12. Robby Lyons; 13. David Schilling; 14. Josh Stillwell; 15. Collin Jareb; 16. Casey Brown; 17. Grant Winchester; 18. Alex Urbina; 19. Enrique Limon; 20. Sheldon Crouse; 21. Billy Webb; 22. William Cunningham

Legend Car Young Lions Feature (20 laps): 1. Carson Ferguson; 2. Stefan Parsons; 3. Matt Craig; 4. Stevie Johns Jr; 5. Seth Werner; 6. Alex Reece; 7. Woodrow Mullis’ 8. Christian Eckes; 9. Alex Murray; 10. Jacob Heafner; 11. Enzo Fittipaldi; 12. Michael Womack; 13. Austin Green; 14. Matt Thomas; 15. Ryan Millington; 16. Scott Joy; 17. Dawson Cram; 18. Cason Werner; 19. Amber Burchette; 20. Walter Thomas.

Bandolero Outlaws Feature (14 laps): 1. Miguel Cesar; 2. Ashton Winger; 3. Jensen Jorgenson; 4. Jordan Plummer; 5. Nate Tretow; 6. Austin Powell; 7. Jack Fread; 8. Matthew Davey; 9. Kayla Lyons; 10. Justin Taylor; 11. Chase Purdy; 12. Kamera McDonald; 13. Hanna Bell; 14. Mathew Emery; 15. Trevor Rizzo; 16. Matt Mead; 17. Nick MacMillan; 18. Eric Brown.

LiveWell Homes Bandolero Bandits Feature (13 laps): 1. Chandler Smith; 2. DJ Canipe; 3. Eddie Fatscher; 4. Daniel Wilk; 5. Connor Younginer; 6. Mini Tyrell; 7. William Robusto; 8. Austin Geer; 9. Braydn Mander; 10. Liz Montgomery; 11. Richie Kuty; 12. Brayde Miranda; 13. Mark Durgin Jr; 14. Josh Kossek; 15. Blake Cisneros; 16. Ryan Israel; 17. Ryleigh Lemonds

Bandolero Beginner Bandits Feature (20 laps): 1. Cameron Bolton; 2. Carson Kvapil; 3. Bryson Ruff; 4. Elijah Todd; 5. Josh Speas; 6. Dylan Notaro; 7. Carson Poindexter; 8. Roy Hayes; 9. Isabella Robusto; 10. Brandon Grants; 11. George Hayes; 12. Tommy Good.


Hemric, Ferguson Pick Up Wins in Summer Shootout Series