Hell Tour Sees Familiar and New Face in Victory Lane

MAPLE PARK, IL — Bobby Pierce pocketed $10,000 after dominating Sycamore Speedway on Monday night, giving him the DIRTcar Summer Nationals points lead heading into the final Champions Week.


Dennis Erb Jr. set the front row with two-time Sycamore track champion Charlie Olson for the 50-lap Feature, but a caution on the start involving Olson moved Pierce to the front row. Finally, on a third attempt at starting the Feature, Pierce jumped straight to the lead.


He built a three-second lead over former champion Jason Feger, who surged forward from sixth to second. Feger cut Pierce’s lead to one second as another former champion, Ryan Unzicker, closed the gap between himself and Feger until lapped traffic slowed Unzicker on the bottom.


Eventually, Feger ran out of time to track down Pierce, who also claimed the $2,000 Independence Week title presented by FK Rod Ends.


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals resumes Wednesday, July 10, at the Thunder Speedway for the “Hell Tour’s” second visit in Muskegon, MI.


Nicely stops Hoffman in Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals: After four weeks of trying, Tyler Nicely final conquered Nick Hoffman on Monday night at Sycamore Speedway to win a DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Feature worth $1,500.


Nicely set the front row of the 25-lap main event with Jeffery Ledford. Nicely jumped to lead quickly with Hunt Gossum following in second. Gossum challenged Nicely around the bottom for a couple laps until a caution flew.


On the restart Hoffman drove around Gossum for second and pressured Nicely. Hoffman, the championship leader, was strong as usual, but Nicely wouldn’t surrender the lead and held on for the checkered flag. Meanwhile, Allen Weisser worked up to Gossum for third in an entertaining battle behind the leaders, with Weisser claiming the spot in the end.


The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals resumes Wednesday, July 10, at the Thunder Speedway in Muskegon, MI.


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Model Feature (50 Laps) – 1. 32-Bobby Pierce [4]; 2. 25F-Jason Feger [6]; 3. 24-Ryan Unzicker [3]; 4. 99JR-Frank Heckenast, [11]; 5. 89-Mike Spatola [8]; 6. 3S-Brian Shirley [13]; 7. 28-Dennis Erb, [1]; 8. 21B-Rich Bell [10]; 9. 15B-Jay Brendle [15]; 10. 9-Lyle Zanker [16]; 11. 25W-Allen Weisser [5]; 12. CJ1-Rusty Schlenk [12]; 13. 28O-Charlie Olson [2]; 14. 25H-Chuck Hummer [14]; 15. 31AUS-Paul Stubber [7]; 16. 22B-Jonathan Brauns [9]; 17. B5-Brandon Sheppard [17]; 18. 87-Walker Arthur [18]; 19. 21-Billy Moyer [19]; 20. 2-Allen Murray [20]; 21. 18-Shannon Babb [21]; 22. 29-Spencer Diercks [22]; Hard Charger:99JR-Frank Heckenast,[+7]


DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Feature (25 Laps) – 1. 25N-Tyler Nicely [1]; 2. 2-Nick Hoffman [4]; 3. 25W-Allen Weisser [5]; 4. 99-Hunt Gossum [3]; 5. 18-Jeffrey Ledford [2]; 6. 1-Ray Bollinger [7]; 7. 11T-Dugan Thye [12]; 8. 37L-Michael Ledford [6]; 9. O-Travis Kohler [8]; 10. 57-Tim Hamburg [15]; 11. 25-Mike Simons [9]; 12. 57H-Brandon Hamburg [14]; 13. 1L-Dave Lilja [13]; 14. J1-Roger Jackson [11]; 15. 40-Jack Williams [16]; 16. 16-Nick Lueth [10]; 17. 8K-Levi Kissinger [17]; 18. 36-Kenny Wallace [18]; 19. K19-Will Krup [19]; Hard Charger:11T-Dugan Thye[+5]


-DIRTcar Racing Press Release

-Photo credit: Bobby Pierce Facebook

Hell Tour Sees Familiar and New Face in Victory Lane