Barre, VT – Williamstown, VT’s Jimmy Hebert has filed the first official entry for the 53rd Northfield Savings Bank Milk Bowl on Sunday, October 11. The 2015 edition of the “toughest short-track stock car race in North America” has more than $60,000 in posted awards with $10,000 guaranteed to the winner of the annual Thunder Road Speedbowl season finale.


The Milk Bowl is one of the most celebrated auto racing events in the United States with its unique race format and tradition. The special event for American-Canadian Tour (ACT) Late Models is run in three 50-lap segments, with the starting grid for the second and third segments set by inverting the finishing order of the previous segment. Drivers receive one point per position, per segment, with the lowest combined finish for all three segments earning the overall win.


“The Milk Bowl means a lot,” Hebert said. “I grew up watching it as a kid, and it was definitely the biggest race at my home track (Thunder Road). We’re excited for it this year – we’ve finally started to figure things out at Thunder Road. We’ve had some tough luck the last couple years and couple of car issues, but I think we’re in pretty good shape this year.”


In addition to the $10,000 minimum winner’s purse, posted awards include a $1,000 bonus for the driver setting the fastest time in time trials and $500 for the driver with the second-fastest time. $7,500 in lap leader awards are also up for grabs and will be distributed among the top-three drivers on each lap of the event.


The winner’s list for the Milk Bowl includes some of the most celebrated names in Northeast auto racing history. Robbie Crouch holds the record with four Milk Bowl wins, while St-Denis, QC’s Patrick Laperle and Williston, VT’s Brian Hoar lead active ACT drivers with three victories each.


Former NASCAR Sprint Cup driver Kevin Lepage and 1960s legend Russ Ingerson were also three-time winners. Other former champions of the event include inaugural winner Harold Hannaford; Dave Dion; Beaver, Bobby, and Brent Dragon; Nick Sweet; and defending champion Eddie MacDonald.


The two-day event begins Saturday, October 10 at 1:30pm with Booth Bros./H.P. Hood Qualifying Day. Time trials and “Triple 50” qualifying races will set the first 26 spots in the 30-car Milk Bowl starting field, with the balance determined by the last-chance “B-Feature” Sunday, October 11 at 1:00pm. Saturday’s program also includes time trials and the first segments of “Mini Milk Bowls” for the Bond Auto Tiger Sportsmen and Allen Lumber Street Stocks.


Advance adult admission for the 53rd Northfield Savings Bank Milk Bowl is just $30 for a two-day ticket or $25 for Sunday only. Kids age 12 and under are admitted free.


For more information contact the ACT or Thunder Road offices at 802.244.6963, [email protected], or visit or


-Thunder Road Speedbowl Press Release. Photo credit:

Hebert Files First Entry for 53rd Annual Milk Bowl