Heat Races Kick off 34th Butterball Memorial

The Paul “Butterball” Woolridge Memorial kicked off Friday night at Richmond Raceway with Ultimate Heart of America Super Late Model Series heat races.  Four heat races set the first sixteen cars in Saturday night’s 59-lap A-Main that will pay $20,059 to win.


WATCH LIVE: Butterball Memorial at Richmond Raceway (KY)


Henry Hornsby set fast time out of 28 cars in qualifying, but would be relegated to a third-place finish in the opening heat race.  Ross Bailes took the the win and the pole position for the feature in the first heat over Scott James, with Hornsby and Tommy Bailey transferring out of the race.


Jared Hawkins won the second heat, but the bigger story was World of Outlaws Late Model Series regular Ricky Weiss not transferring out of the race.  He was involved in an early incident and missed transferring at the line by mere inches, now having to go through the B-Main on Saturday.  Derek Fisher, Michael Chilton and Larry Martin Jr joined Hawkins as transfer cars.


The third heat race saw more calamity early after Christian Hanger had an early exit due to mechanical issues.  Perennial Richmond Raceway favorite Zack Dohm won the race going away, followed by two-time Butterball winner Tyler Carpenter, Ultimate HoA points leader Tristan Chamberlain and Logan Walls.


Josh Rice won the fourth and final heat race to close out the night, with Ashton Winger finishing second after early contact with a lapped car left his GR Smith Racing No.89 missing the entire left side.  David Webb and Justin Ratliff would be the last two cars to transfer out of the final heat race.


Hot laps begin at 6:00 ET for the Ultimate Heart of America Super Late Model Series, who will start off with their B-Main.  Along with the Butterball Memorial, Pro Late Models, Modifieds, Super Stocks and 4-Cylinders will have complete shows.


-Story by: Koty Geyer, Speed51 National Correspondent – Twitter: @kgeyer3
-Photo Credit: Speed51 Photo


Butterball Memorial Top 16 Starters:

  1. Ross Bailes
  2. Jared Hawkins
  3. Zack Dohm
  4. Josh Rice
  5. Scott James
  6. Derek Fisher
  7. Tyler Carpenter
  8. Ashton Winger
  9. Henry Hornsby
  10. Michael Chilton
  11. Tristan Chamberlain
  12. David Webb
  13. Tommy Bailey
  14. Larry Martin Jr
  15. Logan Walls
  16. Justin Ratliff

Heat Races Kick off 34th Butterball Memorial