Hawkins Shows Domination in RoC Sportsman Spencer Show

Williamson, New York — Eddie Hawkins of Walworth, N.Y., made the most of “Kids Night” at Spencer Speedway presented by Wilbert’s U Pull-It, as he posted the overall fast time in group qualifying, won his qualifying race, redrew the pole and went on to win the opening 35-lap feature for the Race of Champions Asphalt Sportsman Modified Series this past Friday night. It was the Race of Champions win for Hawkins.


“This is really cool and a big deal for us,” stated Hawkins from victory lane. “We had a great car all night, from the time we arrived. Things just seemed to go our way. I want to thank my family and especially my Dad for all of his help. This is a great way to get things going and it’s great to see the track back with the enthusiasm it has right now.”


Hawkins was challenged by several restarts and the advances of Kevin Timmerman of Walworth, N.Y., who finished second. Timmerman advanced from the 7th starting position.


Mike Leaty of Williamson, N.Y., finished third after starting 9th, while Daryl Lewis (fourth) and Andy Lewis (fifth) both of Ontario, N.Y., rounded out the top-five.


Ashley Schoonmaker of Ontario, N.Y., took home the top honors in the Wilbert’s U Pull-It Super Six Series. Schoonmaker topped Andy Coucilava and Adam VanHall.


In Race of Champions Super Stock Series competition, Tommy Krawczyk of West Seneca, N.Y., crossed the finish line first, but was penalized all points and money for a post-race technical infraction. The engine in the 48 car exceeded the maximum compression permitted per the 2019 Race of Champions rule book. Tommy Barron of Ontario, N.Y., finished second and Joe Mancuso of Buffalo, N.Y., finished third.


In the Wilbert’s U Pull-It Four Cylinder division, Jacob Gustafson of Webster, N.Y., crossed the finish line first but was penalized all points and money for a post-race technical infraction. Gustafson exceeded the maximum permitted left side weight percentage. Jody London of Ontario, N.Y., finished second and Kenny Hejna of Buffalo, N.Y., finished third.


Kid’s Night saw children win four bikes from Wilbert’s U Pull-It and Timmerman Racing. Kid’s had the opportunity to enjoy face painting, a fire truck, a balloon artist, bicycle races and a candy dash down the front stretch of the 65-year old facility.


Finish        Starting Position                Car No.         Name


1                 1                                              33                   Eddie Hawkins                                           35

2                 7                                              17                   Kevin Timmerman

3                 9                                              1                      Mike Leaty

4                 8                                              10                   Daryl Lewis, Jr.

5                 4                                              65                   Andy Lewiis

6                 15                                           41                   Andy Jankowiak

7                 16                                           41l                  Timmy Lewis

8                 20                                           36                   Dave Kozlowski

9                 10                                           45                   Tyler Catalano

10               18                                           18w                Robert Mison, Jr.

11               19                                           96                   Don Pringle

12               25                                           18                   Erick Ruffell

13               23                                           83                   Jeff Szafraniec

14               12                                           64                   Amy Catalano

15               2                                              09                   Mike Ramos

16               5                                              5                      Tom Keyes

17               3                                              31                   Tony Carbone

18               6                                              05                   Matt Lees

19               14                                           11                   Ricky Knapp

20               13                                           50                   Tom Fecteau

21               26                                           27                   Maddie Virts

22               11                                           91                   Joe Evans

23               17                                           84                   Josh Schoonmaker

24               24                                           6                      Tom Alloco

25               21                                           19                   Zach Kosachook

26               22                                           09l                  Cassie Logsdon


-Race of Champions Press Release

-Photo credit: Speed51

Hawkins Shows Domination in RoC Sportsman Spencer Show