Post Falls, ID –Short track racing was at its best this past Saturday night at Stateline Speedway in Post Falls, ID for the 17th running of the NAPA Auto Parts Idaho 200. The main event saw many lead changes, hard racing amongst the leaders and a few drivers coming from the back of the field. At the end of the night it was Braeden Havens coming out on top to win his first Idaho 200 en route to capturing his first Northwest Super Late Model Series victory.


Havens was able to hold off a hard charging Ryan Wells who came from the back of the field after a late race incident to finish second. Josh Roberts topped off the podium in third followed by Dave Garber and Glenn Knutson rounding out the top five.


300x250 Kalamazoo Klash 08.10.16The weekend started out with current points leader and two-time defending champion, Garrett Evans, winning the pole with a blistering time of 13.055-seconds. Young gun Joey Bird followed in second with a time of 13.075. Evans went on to draw for an eight-car invert putting Shane Mitchell and Bodie Morton on the front row.


Mitchell brought the field to the green flag and grab the hole-shot lead with the field heading into turn 1. Mitchell held the lead for the first 66 laps while drivers battled behind him. Evans worked his way through the field from his starting spot in row four and overtook Mitchell on lap 67 to grab the lead.


An incident at the front of the field on lap 72 involved three of the top seven cars including Bird, Morton and Clint Habart. Bird’s damage was too much and he would retire from the race after running in the fourth position.


Evans brought the field to the break at lap 100 holding off a hard-charging Wells who was running in second. The teams were given a long break while another class ran their feature. Teams were allowed to change two tires, add fuel and make any adjustments they needed while the time allowed.


The second-half featured Evans and Wells battling out with Wells trying to make passes to the outside but Evans holding him off. Lap 118 saw the caution come out and bunch the field back up for a restart. During the restart Evans grabbed the lead once again but would now be trying to hold off both Wells and Havens who was running third. As the drivers came back around during lap 125 Evans car slowed and Wells made contact with Evans sending him to the infield.


Both Evans and Wells were sent to the rear of the field for the incident. Havens gained the lead with Trevor Cristiani running in the second position on the restart. Havens held the lead for a few laps until Cristiani grabbed the inside and took the top spot. Garber would follow to the inside and move to second.


Cristiani’s lead didn’t last long as Garber worked himself into the lead on lap 139. Garber held the lead for the next 17 laps until Havens was able to work his way back to the bumper of Garber. The two drivers raced side-by-side making contact on several occasions while battling in a 20-lap stretch. On lap 181 Havens got a run to the outside and gained the lead.


The KRC Power Steering Power Move of the Race went to Wells who came from 17th to second in 40 laps as he passed Garber on lap 182. Havens worked hard but was able to hold off Wells in a final lap shootout to the front.


The JOES Racing Hard Charger was 2015 Rookie of the Year Glenn Knutson who advanced 14 positions from 19th to a top-5 finish.


Next up for the NWSLMS is the Park Model Homes 125 at Spokane County Super Oval August 20.


The Northwest Super Late Model Series Inc. is the premier regional touring Super Late Model series in the Pacific Northwest. The series has many valued sponsors including Hoosier Racing Tire, McGunegill Engine Performance, Port City Race Cars, AR Bodies, Joes Racing Products, Accelerated Graphics, Five Star Bodies, Longacre Racing Products, Wheel Chill, KRC Power Steering, Racers Against Child Abuse, Atomic Screenprinting and Embroidery, Franks Racing Radio, BLP, Jefferson Pitts Racing and Racing Dynamics. For more information on the series visit or on Facebook or Twitter. To contact the series please email [email protected]


-Northwest Super Late Model Series Press Release. Photo credit: Mike Wright



17th NAPA Auto Parts Idaho 200

Stateline Speedway .250-Mile Oval

200 laps 50 miles


Unofficial Finishing position/Car No./Name/Hometown/Laps completed

  1. 83 Braeden Havens Medical Lake, WA 200
  2. 5 Ryan Wells Hingham, MT 200
  3. 9 Josh Roberts Ephrata, WA 200
  4. 93 Dave Garber Spokane WA 200
  5. 51 Glenn Knutson Quincy, WA 200
  6. 90 Trevor Cristiani Nampa, ID 200
  7. 16 Blake Williams Spokane, WA 200
  8. 1K Mitch Kleyn Quincy, WA 200
  9. 29 Jason O’Neil Spokane, WA 200
  10. 52 Brittney Zamora Kennewick, WA 200
  11. 77 Bodie Morton Kalispell, MT 200
  12. 3 Barry Shingar Cranbrook, BC 200

13        88        Dirk Bennett Spokane, WA 197

14        38        Terry Armstrong Jr Hauser, ID 195

15        11        Ed Thomsen Pasco, WA 194

16        09        Clint Habart Cranbrook, BC 186

17        98        Chris Kellogg Spokane, WA 162

18        23        Corey Allard Sagle, ID 160

19        64G     Garrett Evans East Wenatchee, WA 159

20        64j       Jan Evans East Wenatchee, WA 152

21        99        Shane Mitchell East Wenatchee, WA 125

22        24        Joey Bird Spokane, WA 71

  1. 15 Tom Plybon Spokane, WA 10

DNS   67        Alex Lessor Kalispell, MT DNS

Havens Flexes Most Muscle in Impressive Idaho 200 Win