PONTOON BEACH, Ill. – Mike Harrison ended a winless drought that stretched back to the 2013 season on Friday night, capturing the $1,000 checkered flag at Tri-City Speedway.

Harrison, the defending DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals champion, fought his way to the front following a poor finish in heat two. Dean Hoffman, the pole-sitter, charges out to the lead on lap one and dominated the first half of the 25-lap main event.

Hoffman’s car began to fade around lap 10, allowing Harrison and Michael Long to close to his back-bumper. Harrison was able to complete the pass for the lead on lap 11, as he quickly separated himself from the rest of the field. Long was able to complete the pass on Hoffman, but Harrison had already pulled away to an insurmountable lead.

Harrison claimed the victory over Long by more than four seconds as he dominated the second half of the race, leading 14 laps en route to capturing his first victory of the season.

(Click here for news and information on the Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals.)

Hoffman, Rusty Griffaw and Levi Kissinger rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Hoffman, Ray Walsh, Brent Mullins and Rusty Griffaw.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals continues on Saturday night at Fairbury Speedway in Fairbury, Ill.


DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Tri-City Speedway; Pontoon Beach, Ill.; June 20, 2014

A-Main (25-laps): 1. 24H-Mike Harrison ($1,000), 2. 18L-MIchael Long, 3. 1D-Dean Hoffman, 4. 16-Rusty Griffaw, 5. 8K-Levi Kissinger, 6. 1W-Ray Walsh, 7. 41M-Brent Mullins, 8. 5-Steven Brooks, 9. 12-Jeff Curl, 10. 77-Ray Bollinger, 11. 14C-Rick Conoyer, 12. 0-Tim Hancock, 13. 35D-Steven Delonjay, 14. 3C-Cody Conner, 15. 36-Kenny Wallace, 16. 10XJY-Jim Black, 17. 05W-David Wietholder, 18. 10B-Bradley White, 19. 41G-Matt Goulden, 20. 18-Jake Seets, 21. 96D-Cory Daugherty, 22. 32-Donovan Lodge.

2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Schedule

June 7 Sat Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Tyler Nicely
June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. RAIN
June 12 Thur Kankakee Co-Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Devin Gilpin
June 13 Fri Kankakee Co-Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 15 Sun Off
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Off
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. RAIN
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Mike Harrison
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. $1,500
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. $1,000
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. $1,000
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Park Clarksville, Tenn. $1,000
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, Tenn. $1,500
June 27 Fri Paducah Int-Raceway Paducah, Ky. $1,000
June 28 Sat Federated I-55 Raceway Pevely, Mo. $1,000
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. $1,000
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. $1,000
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. $1,000
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. $1,000
July 4 Fri Fayette Co-Speedway Brownstown, Ill. $1,000
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. $1,000
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. $1,000
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. $1,000
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. $1,000
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. $1,000
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. $1,000
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co-Speedway Danville, Ill. $1,000
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue Off
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio $1,000
July 17 Thu Brushcreek Motorsports Peebles, Ohio TBA
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio $1,000
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $1,000

The Summit Racing Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners : Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communication ), Velocita (Official Uniform),VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Joes Racing Products, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Racing Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Fluidampr, Fox Shocks, Impact Race Products, Penske Shocks, Performance Friction Brakes, Strange Oval, Schoenfeld Headers, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Intercomp. 


– DIRTCar Modified Nationals press release and photo

Harrison Returns to DIRTcar Mod Nat’ls Victory Lane at Tri-City