Humboldt, KS (June 20, 2014) – Friday night marked the lone stop for the Lucas Oil MLRA in Southeast Kansas at Humboldt Speedway. The Whitworth family had the track in tip top shape and racy from top to bottom. Ryan Gustin earned the Pole Award through the redraw. He ended the evening with his second trip to RACEceiver Victory Lane in as many races.

“I knew we were going to get in lapped traffic quick,” said Gustin of the initial laps. “I was trying to be a little patient there in the beginning till we go to him (Phillips). That’s when the race began. It was a good night for us.”

Terry Phillips fired from the outside pole and quickly jumped out front. He set a torrid pace early, until he got hung up in lapped traffic. Gustin used a lap down car as a pick and never looked back.

“He’s running good,” said Phillips of Gustin. “We both know this track. We run here in the mod quite a bit. I needed to be down I guess. I didn’t know that. I got snookered there.”

Behind the lead duo it was some distance back to the next group of cars. Dave Eckrich, Travis Dickes and Jesse Stovall were in close quarters for a good deal of the race. Eckrich got the best of the three car scrum and finished third, his best run of the season to date.

‘It’s getting better,” commented Eckrich of his season. “We’ve made some changes, and this car is coming alive.”

The win is Gustin’s third with the Lucas Oil MLRA. His victory breaks up the two race streak started by Stovall in the 2012 season.The 40 lap feature was contested caution free.

Saturday the tour rolls into Thunder Hill Speedway in Mayetta, Kansas for the first of two stops this year.


6/20/14 Humboldt Speedway Contingency Awards

AR Bodies $50 Certificate for non-qualifier – Ethan Young
Casey’s General Stores Hard Charger – Zac Simmons
Chix Gear $25 Certificate for 7th Place Finisher – Jeremy Payne Pole Award – Ryan Gustin

Fast Track Photos – Ryan Gustin
GRT Heat Race Winners – Dave Eckrich, Ryan Gustin, Terry Phillips
Hooker Harness Gift Certificate for 11th Place Finish – Scott Lewis
Landrum Springs Product Certificate – Ryan Gustin
Out Pace Certificate – Travis Dickes
Peformance Bodies Certificate – Ryan Gustin Hard Luck Award – Scott Lewis


Lucas Cattle Company A Feature (40 Laps): 1. Ryan Gustin (Marshalltown, IA), 2. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO), 3. Dave Eckrich (Oxford, IA), 4. Travis Dickes (Madison, NE), 5. Jesse Stovall (Billings, MO), 6. Jason Krohn (Slayton, MN), 7. Jeremy Payne (Springfield, MO), 8. Chad Simpson (Mt Vernon, IA), 9. Tony Jackson, Jr (Lebanon, MO), 10. Austin Siebert (Grandview, MO), 11. Scott Lewis (Henderson, CO), 12. Gary Gorby (Caney, KS), 13. Shannon Scott (Henryetta, OK), 14. Dillon Rupe (Broken Arrow, OK), 15. Zac Simmons (Erie, KS), 16. Eric Main (Hutchison, KS), 17. Brandon McCormick (Lebanon, MO), 18. Chance Bishop (Bartlesville, OK), 19. Joseph Gorby (Bartlesville, OK), 20. Jacob Magee (Caney, KS), 21. Kyle Beard (Truman, AR), 22. Ethan Young (Harrisonville, MO)

Lucas Oil Products Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. Dave Eckrich (Oxford, IA), 2. Jason Krohn (Slayton, MN), 3. Chad Simpson (Mt Vernon, IA), 4. Jeremy Payne (Springfield, MO), 5. Gary Gorby (Caney, KS), 6. Kyle Beard (Truman, AR), 7. Dillon Rupe (Broken Arrow, OK), 8. Ethan Young (Harrisonville, MO) Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. Ryan Gustin (Marshalltown, IA), 2. Austin Siebert (Grandview, MO), 3. Chance Bishop (Bartlesville, OK), 4. Scott Lewis (Henderson, CO), 5. Jacob Magee (Caney, KS), 6. Shannon Scott (Henryetta, OK), 7. Eric Main (Hutchison, KS)

MAV TV American Real Heat 3 (10 Laps): 1. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO), 2. Jesse Stovall (Billings, MO), 3. Travis Dickes (Madison, NE), 4. Tony Jackson, Jr (Lebanon, MO), 5. Brandon McCormick (Lebanon, MO), 6. Joseph Gorby (Bartlesville, OK), 7. Zac Simmons (Erie, KS)


Gustin Rolls in Lucas Oil MLRA Stop at Humboldt