GSPSS Gearing Up for Biggest Race in Series History

Since the inception of the Granite State Pro Stock Series in 2011, Mike Parks had a vision of creating a marquee event for his race teams.  This Sunday, he’ll see that vision come to life during the inaugural Granite State Nationals at Claremont Motorsports Park.


With $10,000 on the line in the 150-lap event, Sunday’s event will be the biggest event in series history.  Not only will the loyal followers of the Granite State Pro Stock Series be in attendance, but a large handful of regional Late Model stars are planning a trip to Claremont, New Hampshire.




The Granite State Nationals will be the fourth GSPSS event of the season held at Claremont.  Ray Christian III won the first two events at the track this year before Angelo Belsito scored the checkered flag last time out on July 24.  Both drivers will be in attendance this weekend and will be joined by a stout field of competitors.


Currently, 27 drivers spread out across all seven New England states are on the pre-entry list for the event.


Fresh off his third-place finish in the 47th Annual Oxford 250, defending GSPSS champion Joey Doiron will return to the series with hopes of collecting a $10,000 payday.  Joey Polewarczyk, Jr., one of the region’s most successful Late Model drivers, will also be looking to add another big win to a resume that already includes wins in the Oxford 250 and Milk Bowl.


Five-time PASS National champion Ben Rowe and four-time PASS North champion DJ Shaw have entered the event. ARCA Menards Series racer Derek Griffith, who won his first touring series championship in 2015 with the Granite State Pro Stock Series, will also return to the series Sunday for a shot at the big prize.


In addition to Griffith and Doiron, three other former GSPSS champions will also be competing in the Granite State Nationals.  2013 and 2017 champion Mike O’Sullivan, 2016 champion Barry Gray and 2018 champion Devin O’Connell have all entered the event.


Former GSPSS winners Josh King and Mike Mitchell have also filed entries.


Three former Oxford 250 winners are represented on the entry list, with 1996 winner Larry Gelinas, 2016 winner Wayne Helliwell, Jr. and 2017 winner Curtis Gerry all filing entries.


Former Oxford Plains Speedway track champion Gabe Brown, local hotshoe Luke Hinkley and young star Jake Johnson should also be considered contenders to score the $10,000 prize.


GSPSS Rookie of the Year contenders Casey Call and Cody LeBlanc have both entered the event, as has multi-time Seekonk Speedway champion David Darling.


Jake Matheson, who currently sits fourth in the GSPSS championship standings, has filed an entry and will look for a breakout performance on the big stage.


Connecticut drivers Cory Casagrande and John Lowinski-Loh, New York native Mike Scorzelli and New Hampshire’s Jerry Gomarlo are also on the current entry list.


Who will leave Claremont this Sunday with $10,000 in their pockets? Make your plans to be in Claremont, New Hampshire for the Granite State Nationals to find out.


If you can’t make it, Speed51.TV will be offering a live stream of the race for monthly and yearly subscribers.


-Story by: Brandon Paul, Speed51 Content Manager – Twitter: @Brandon_Paul51

-Photo credit: Speed51

GSPSS Gearing Up for Biggest Race in Series History