New Egypt, NJ – “The Ringoes Rocket” Ryan Godown rocketed to his fourth straight 358 Modified victory at New Egypt Speedway on Saturday night to win the opening round of the 2015 May Modified Madness Series presented by Oliver Communications Group and Oliver Construction. Godown would go on and dedicate the win to a young fan in attendance that is battling cancer.


“I got to give a hats off to New Egypt. The race track was superb tonight,” said Godown. “This was an all around team effort tonight. We had a little visitor before the races started tonight and he really touched my heart. Having a son and seeing that, it tore me apart all night and even during the feature I said ‘I want to win this for him and his family tonight.'”


Cream Ridge, NJ’s PJ Oliver led the field to the green flag and got out to a half a straightaway lead until lap seven when the caution flag would fly for Ryan Krachun, who was making his 358 Modified debut, spun in-between turns three and four. Oliver again would jump out to a healthy lead as Godown would start to stalk him with Godown eventually taking the lead on lap 13. The yellow flag would come unfurled again when DJ Ruppert coasted to a stop in turn four. Godown would continue to show dominance over the field when Sammy Piazza and Chris Esposito would tangle off of turn two with Piazza ending up spinning. The final caution flag of the night would come out on lap 24 when PJ Oliver’s good run would come to an end when he suffered a left-rear flat tire. The final six laps Godown would go uncontested as he raced to his fourth win in four races at New Egypt Speedway. David VanHorn, who had to qualify in the B-Main, would come home second. Rocco Infante had his best run of the year finishing third with Billy Pauch and John McClelland rounding out the top five. Heat races for the 30-358 Modifieds in attendance were won by Chris Esposito, Billy Pauch and PJ Oliver with Chris Grbac winning the B-Main.


JT Trstensky of Flemington, NJ would lead every lap on his way to winning the first of two Sportsman features over Steve Davis, Clay Butler, Will Dupree and Mike Hendershot. The night cap Sportsman feature would be won by Bob Lineman Jr. over Johnny Cornell, Steve Davis, Mike Hendershot, and Brandon Grosso.


Scott Dugan, after breaking with one lap to go the week prior, would finally pick up the win in the first of two Street Stock features. It would be his first career victory. Following Dugan over the line would be Todd Dige, Dan Collamer, John Carpenter and Jason Saredy. Gary Klimeczak would hold off challenges from Joe Reid and Darren Cox, John Carpenter and Dan Collamer to win his first Street Stock race of 2015 in the second feature of the night.


Third generation racer Billy Osmun would pick up the win in the HCI/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman feature along with Neal Williams winning the 10 lap NorthEast Wingless Sprint Car Exhibition.


New Egypt Speedway is back in action this coming Saturday night, May 9th, celebrating Mother’s Day. There will be a free flower giveaway to all ladies in attendance courtesy of John Gasko & Son Farm and Greenhouses. The 358 Modifieds will be in action with the “Dirty Dozen” round of May Modified Madness presented by John Gasko & Son Farm and Greenhouses along with the Crate Modifieds, NERS/TSRS Sprint Cars, and the HCI/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman. Pit gates open at 3PM and front gates at 4PM with Hot-Laps starting at 5PM, and the first green flag at 6PM.Adults are $20, seniors 65 and older are $18, teens 12-15 and military and their spouses with ID are $10, and children 11 and under are free.


For more information, visit, “Like” us on Facebook/newegyptspeedwayofficial, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway. New Egypt Speedway is 7/16th mile, family friendly dirt racing track located minutes from Six Flags Great Adventure on Route 539 in New Egypt, NJ.


358 Modified Results
1st Heat: 1. Chris Esposito 2. Rocco Infante 3. Jimmy Horton 4. Sammy Piazza 5. Johnny Guarino
2nd Heat: 1. Billy Pauch 2. Neal Williams 3. DJ Ruppert 4. Willie Osmun 5. Bryan Kuhl
3rd Heat: 1. PJ Oliver 2. Jimmy Blewett 3. Chad Barney 4. Billy Pauch Jr 5. Ryan Godown
B-Main: 1. Chris Grbac 2. Danny Bouc 3. David Van Horn 4. Tad Cox 5. Patrick Gold
Feature (30 Laps): 1. Ryan Godown 2. David Van Horn 3. Rocco Infante 4. Billy Pauch 5. John McClelland 6. Billy Pauch Jr 7. Jimmy Blewett 8. Tad Cox 9. Willie Osmun 10. Sammy Piazza 11.Mike Esposito 12. Bryan Kuhl 13. Danny Bouc 14. Andrew Bohn 15. DJ Ruppert 16. Chris Grbac 17. Neal Williams 18. PJ Oliver 19. Jimmy Horton 20. Ryan Krachun 21. Patrick Gold 22. Johnny Guarino 23. Chad Barney 24. Gary Butler
DNQ: Lou Cicconi, Mikey Butler, John Pakenham, Doug Ostwald, John Stangle, Jimmy Martin


-New Egypt Speedway Press Release. Photo credit:

Godown Dedicates New Egypt Win to Fan Battling Cancer