Lancaster, N.Y. – Lancaster National Speedway paid tribute to its past with Homecoming/Retro Night on Saturday night. The fans came out decked in their favorite racing shirts and jackets and many former drivers were in the crowd as well. A total of 82 cars were pitside for an action-packed night of racing.

In X-Press Signs Stock Car Series action, George Skora III of Eden, N.Y. won the Sunoco Sportsman feature. Dave Russell of Clarence, N.Y. picked up the win in the Race of Champions Late Models. Rich Sharpe of Lancaster scored his seventh win of the year in the Advanced auto Parts Street Stocks. In the Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinders, Dave Brunka of Cheektowaga, N.Y. earned his first career victory.

Mark Pennell and Jake Lyon led the field of 20 Sunoco Sportsman to the opening green flag. Pennell led the first four laps before being overtaken by Lyon on a restart. Last week’s feature winner, Kevin Miller, came from the sixth starting position to move past Pennell for second on lap 15.

Miller chased Lyon for the lead until lap 19 when the pair made contact in turn one. Lyon spun out, and Miller did as well shortly thereafter. This created chaos as the field tried to avoid both cars. Several got caught up in the incident, including Tommy Catalano, Mark Pennell, Shwan Nye and Zach Truesdail

This reshaped the front of the field as it moved Skora to the lead, who was running in fifth place when the accident happened. Andy Jankowiak, Scott Wylie, Tony Carbone and Jake Vernon rounded out the rest of the top five. On the ensuing restart, Sherri Hogan’s car dropped a massive amount of fluid on the racing surface, which required a lengthy cleanup.

The race finally resumed with Skora leading Wylie and Carbone after Jankowiak dropped out under caution with a suspension problem. Skora and Wylie pulled away from the pack throughout the second half of the race with Skora hanging for the win. It was Skora’s first Sportsman win at Lancaster since the final regular season race of 2016. Wylie finished a close second. Carbone, Tommy Catalano and Jake Vernon rounded out the top five.

The Race of Champions Late Models made their first appearance of the season. Terry Weldy led the opening laps of the 30-lap feature from the pole position before giving way to Dave Russell on the seventh lap. Russell then held the field in check until a caution with two laps to go set up a final restart.

The green-white-checkered finish gave Bobby Weber a final shot at Russell for the win. Weber tried to get a run on the outside when the race restarted, but he was thwarted by Russell. Dave Russell held on for his first Late Model win at Lancaster since the 2015 U.S. Open. Weber settled for second with Eldon King III in third. Tommy Catalano drover Nick Crassi’s backup car to a fourth place finish after not even running a heat race. Frank Batista rounded out the top five.

Rich Sharpe continued his domination in the Advanced Auto Parts Street Stocks with his fifth win a row and seventh overall. Sharpe passed Dave Wilson for the lead on a lap 6 and never looked back as he cruised to the win. Mike Scott came from the 17th starting position to second place by lap 17, unfortunately he ran out of time to catch Sharpe.

Dave Brunka claimed his first ever Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinder win. Brunka passed Chris Pennell for the lead on lap 8. He led until lap 21 when Jason Anasiewicz got by him with a bump-and-run maneuver. Anaziewicz crossed the finish line first, but was penalized for the contact and victory was awarded to Brunka.

The vintage Modifieds of the Classic Asphalt Modified Series were also part of the action on Retro Night. Mark Tychoniewicz won the 15 lap feature in a car that paid tribute to Geoff Bodine’s #99 Ford Pinto modified.

Lancaster National Speedway returns to action on July 29 with Autograph Night. The fans in the stands can meet the stars in the cars during a special on-track autograph session. The Race of Champions Late Models will be back along with the Sunoco Sports, Advance Auto Parts Street Stocks and Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinders. Racing starts at 6:30 p.m.

About Lancaster National Speedway & Dragway: Founded in 1959, Lancaster National Speedway and Dragway, WNY’s Premier Motorsports and Event Facility, is a multi-use facility located on 77 acres just outside of metropolitan Buffalo, N.Y. The facility features a 1/8-mile drag strip, a 1/2-mile oval track and hosts several non-motorsports events such as car shows and concerts. For the latest information on Lancaster National Speedway & Dragway check out our website Additional information for racers and fans can be found on our Facebook page ( and on Twitter (@LancasterSpdwy).



Heat Winners: Tony Carbone, Jake Lyon, Kevin Miller

Feature: GEORGE SKORA III, Scott Wylie, Tony Carbone, Tommy Catalano, Jake Vernon, Justin Demelo, Shawn Nye, Jake Lyon, Jayme Thompson, Amy Catalano, Kevin Miller, Owen Bednasz, Dave Kozlowski, Dick Kluth, Andy Jankowiak, Sherri Hogan, Mark Pennell, Zach Truesdail, Timmy Catalano, Mike Rogers


Heat Winners: Bob Minacapelli, Sam Fullone

Feature: DAVE RUSSELL, Bobby Weber, Eldon King III, Tommy Catalano, Frank Batista, Jr., Terry Weldy. Sam Fullone, Jeff Ruddy, Nick Crassi, Ron Richner, Ron Nurmi, Scott Nurmi, Chola Shay, Bob Minacapelli, John Julicher


Heat Winners: Rich Sharpe, Max Northem, Jake Wylie

Feature: RICH SHARPE, Mike Scott, Max Northem, Dennis Londos, Brian Hoffman, Jake Wylie, Tommy Wentland, Dave Wilson, Dave Vona, Garrett Cleversley. Nik Welshans, Keith Flanigan, Lou Carbone, Trevor Pettit, John Carlson, Jason Dieter, Jerry Kozmowski, Frank Prell, Mike Dalfonso, Jr., Chris Handley, Randy Rogers, Tommy Krawczyk, Ken Maltby, Mark Hoch, Andy Cryan, Jimmy Pierce


Heat Winners: Bobby Woch, Chris Pennell

Feature: DAVE BRUNKA, Jason Anasiewicz, Bobby Woch, Kevin Bainbridge, Chris Pennell, Dan Dressel, Joe Brunka, Dave Milbrand, Jr., Marvin Kashankowitz, Charles Palmer, Casey Pew, Bob Palmer, Chris Bugenhagen, Ben Russo


Heat Winners: Dan Wilmes, Tim Janes

Feature: MARK TYCHONIEWICZ, Terry Wilson, Dan Wilmes, Scott Hossfeld, Chic Voit, Tim Janes, Tom Guiller, Joe Bachmann, Willie Miller

Lancaster National Speedway Press Release. Photo Credit: Joe Grabianowski

George Skora Takes Retro Night Win at Lancaster National Speedway