COEBURN, Va. – Lance Gatlin picked up his first NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock victory of the season Saturday at Lonesome Pine Raceway.


Kres VanDyke set fast time in qualifying, but opted to make adjustments to his No. 15 prior to the race and start at the rear of the field. Lance Gatlin would inherit the pole starting position and elect the outside lane for the start.


Gatlin and Ryan Stiltner would lead the field to the green flag to start the 60-lap race. Contact between VanDyke and Jenna Wagner would send VanDyke into the outside wall and force the caution out on the opening lap.



With the field set for a complete restart, Stiltner would take the lead on the start. Gatlin would battle back on the inside to take over the lead on lap seven.


On lap nine, Stiltner would spin with a flat right-rear tire and the yellow flag would wave for the second time.


Stiltner’s spin would relegate him to the rear of the field with Phillip Harris taking over second place. Gatlin would again roar back to the lead on the restart. Only one lap was completed before Wagner’s car slid hard into the outside retaining wall, bringing the yellow flag out again.


Gatlin would regain the lead on the ensuing restart. With 26 laps in the books, the caution would fly again for a spin in the fourth turn.


On the restart, Gatlin would take the lead as Stiltner had made his way back to the second position. Stiltner would battle hard with Gatlin and take over the top spot on lap 29.


The race’s final caution would wave on lap 30 for a spin in turn one.


Back under green, Gatlin would battle Stiltner for the lead. Stiltner would complete the pass on Gatlin exiting turn two on lap 32.


Gatlin would make a final run at Stiltner and take over the lead on lap 46. Gatlin would pull away and capture the checkered flag for his first win of the season.


“We’ve been looking for a win and finally we found it,” said Gatlin. “This isn’t the way we want to get a win with the competition having trouble, but a win is a win.”


David Brown and Keith Stiltner made up the front row for the 30-lap Modified Street race.


Brown would take to the lead to open the race. The race’s first caution would wave just one lap 16 when Robbie Allison and Joey Sykes spun in turns one and two.


Brown would regain the lead on the restart. Brown would soon find himself on trouble as his No. 13 machine spun, getting tagged by Rob Austin.


Stiltner would gain the lead on the restart and never relinquish for the win.


Billy Ketron pulled to an early lead from the pole position of the Pure 4 race. Ketron would lead all 25 laps of the race to claim the victory. The win was Ketron’s firstwin of 2015 at Lonesome Pine.


Rocky Yates took the lead from Joshua Gobble on the opening lap of the Mod 4 feature. A spin in turn two would force the caution out just two laps into the race.


On the restart, Yates and Gobble would battle once again. The two would battle door to door until the yellow flag was displayed on lap 10 for debris on the backstretch.


Yates would take the lead on the restart, but the caution would wave again on lap 16 as the No. 2 slowed with a blown tire.


Yates would pull away on the restart to claim the checkered flag.


Duke Bare domintated his first Pure Street race of the season. Bare pulled to the lead racing into turn one on the opening lap and never looked back to capture the win.


Current Rookie Pure 4 point leader, William Hale, rocketed to the lead to open the 20-lap race. Hale led every lap en route to the victory.


-Lonesome Pine Raceway Press Release & Photo


June 13, 2015 Results:

Late Model Stock Car:
1. 97 Lance Gatlin
2. 22 Ryan Stiltner
3. 55 Mardy Roberts
4. 17 Greg Bohannon
5. 29 Mark Meade
6. 55 Phil Harris
7. 75 Jenna Wagner
8. 15 Kres VanDyke

Modified Street:
1. 22 Keith Stiltner
2. 74 Jared Broadbent
3. 25 Rob Austin
4. 23 Joey Sykes
5. 12 Robbie Allison
6. 24 Dennis Deese
7. 17 Jacob York
DQ. 13 David Brown

Pure 4:
1. 26 Billy Ketron
2. 94 Tom Hodges
3. 94 Tom Hodges
4. 21 David Trent
5. 16 Jackie Jackson
6. 22 Jason Yates
7. 5 BJ Large
8. 01 Jack Clevenger
9. 88 Dan Hall
10. 15 Richard Quillen

Mod 4:
1. 3 Rocky Yates
2. 88 Joshua Gobble
3. 45 Billy Duty
4. 8 Jason Yates
5. 9 Hershell Robinette
6. 7 Chris Amburgey

Pure Street:
1. 52 Duke Bare
2. 13 Nasty Jones
3. 13 Cody Dutton
4. 60 Brad Ball
5. 79 Brian Tate
6. 9 William Vannoy
7. 0 Travis Stoots
8. 9 Hershell Robinette
9. 99 Marty Tunnell

Rookie Pure 4:
1. 47 William Hale
2. 16 Michael Nelson
3. 88 James Gailey
4. 06 William Jones
5. 21 Dennis Stanley
6. 01 Dalton Thomas
7. 15 Larry Stapleton

Gatlin Claims First Victory of Season at Lonesome Pine