MIDLAND, NC – David Garbo, Jr. took the lead on the second lap and led the rest of the way for his first career Pro All Stars Series (PASS) South Super Late Model win in Sunday afternoon’s 13th Annual North-South Shootout at Concord Speedway.


“I drove in a Late Model Stock race here three years ago and Concord has been my favorite racetrack ever since,” said Garbo, driver of the Garbo Lobster #8 for the Fathead Racing team. “We decided to bring a crate motor here and I really wasn’t that sure about the decision because this place is so fast, but it definitely worked to our favor in the end.”


In qualifying Friday night, William Byron took the fast qualifying time by just .005 seconds over Joey Padgett with a lap of over 110 miles per hour on the half mile speedway. Following the top 10 qualifiers redraw, Brandon Ward and rookie Austin Thompson would move up to the front row, while Byron would slot into the fourth starting position. However, Ward would not be able to make the start due to a broken shifter.


Thompson jumped out to the lead at the drop of the green flag, but would be quickly overtaken on the next lap by Garbo entering turn one. The first caution of the night would wave on lap four when Wes Burton spun exiting turn three.


Back under green, Garbo continued to lead over Byron and Clay Rogers, who had moved to the front from the tenth starting position. The hardest crash of the night occurred on lap 15 when defending North-South Shootout winner Ryan Moore had a problem on the right front of his RC Moore Transportation #74 in the dogleg. Moore’s Chevrolet veered hard right, slamming the wall exiting the dogleg. Despite the severity of the crash, Moore emerged from his car unhurt.


Garbo continued to maintain control over the field, while the PASS South winner at Concord Speedway in May, Zane Smith, made his way into the top 10 from the 22nd starting position. Late in the race, Byron began to fade, allowing Rogers to move into second. Jared Irvan and Padgett would follow Rogers around Byron a few laps later. Garbo completely dominated to take the win over Rogers, Padgett, who passed Irvan for third on the final lap, and Byron. Rounding out the top 10 were Jeramie Whorff, Christian Eckes, Tate Fogleman, Kaz Grala, and Smith.


The PASS South Super Late Models and PASS Pro Late Models will be in action for the 2015 season finale on Saturday, November 21st as part of the 10th Annual Mason Dixon Meltdown at Hickory Motor Speedway. Entry forms and the complete weekend schedule is available at ProAllStarsSeries.com. Be sure to “Like” the Pro All Stars Series on Facebook or follow us on Twitter at @PASSSLM14.


-Pro All Stars Series Release & Photo

Garbo Enables Cruise Control En Route to Concord PASS Win