Gajewski Makes History in Flip Merwin Memorial

MG Gajewski made history at State Park Speedway (WI) Thursday night, becoming the first driver to win three consecutive Flip Merwin Memorials at the Wausau quarter-mile.


Gajewski passed Chris Weinkauf with 30 laps remaining in the 75-lap feature race, eventually winning by nearly five seconds in the caution-free affair.


As Gajewski stretched out his lead, his team cautioned him to save his tires and equipment in the event of a late-race restart, but Gajewski continued to distance himself from the pack, leaving no doubt to the race’s outcome.


“They told me to back down,” said Gajewski in victory lane.  “I’ve got to thank all my crew, we worked hard on this thing.  We were slow at the beginning of the year.  We finally found what was wrong, and it showed tonight.”


After struggling to find pace with his Super Late Model early in the year, it gave this year’s win in the event honoring snowmobile racer Flip Merwin, who lost his life in a racing incident in 2003, extra meaning.


“It felt sweet,” said Gajewski.  “I got into Chris [Weinkauf] a little bit, but it was good, hard racing, I think.  The car was unreal.”


Weinkauf finished second, while 2019 Kulwicki Driver Development Program finalist Luke Fenhaus took the third position.  Mike Olson finished fourth, with Jacob Goede rounding out the top five in his first race at State Park in six years.


Race fans who missed Thursday’s Flip Merwin Memorial at State Park Speedway can watch an on-demand replay of Speed51’s Summer Thunder TV broadcast to relive the action.  Click here to watch the replay now.


-Story by: Zach Evans, Southeast Editor – Twitter: @ztevans

-Photo credit: photo

Gajewski Makes History in Flip Merwin Memorial