Dan Fredrickson continued his Late Model dominance Saturday when he set a new track record during time trials for the ARCA Midwest Tour race at La Crosse Speedway (WI). With a blistering lap of 18.508 seconds, Fredrickson was more than a tenth faster than second place qualifiers, Skylar Holzhausen and Ty Majeski, who tied their best lap of 18.624 seconds around the 5/8-mile track.


The top 16 qualifiers were locked into Sunday’s feature strictly based off of the time trials, the other 18 drivers were separated into two groups and raced a 15-lap qualifier race, where the top two drivers advance to the feature, leaving the other 14 to fight for the remaining positions during the last chance race.


300x250-2016-oktoberfest-ppvDerek Kraus led Andy Jones and the other seven drivers to the green flag for the odd qualifier race. Jones passed Kraus on the outside on lap two to take control, and gained almost a one second advantage. Kraus was then able to reel Jones in, and pass him back with eight laps to go. Kraus would go on to win the heat, locking him into tomorrow’s 200-lap feature along with Jones.


The even qualifier race began with Cole Anderson at the front, and Jason Weinkauf to his outside. Weinkauf quickly took the lead and would hold it until three laps to go when he would fall to second, then get passed by Nick Barstad and Griffin McGrath on the final lap to finish fourth. Barstad made the pass for second on the final lap to lock himself into the feature.


Several big names will have to compete in the last chance race Sunday including Natalie Decker, Paul Shafer Jr, Griffin McGrath, Weinkauf, and more in order to make the big show. It has not been decided exactly how many cars will be taken into the feature yet.


After the invert, Jacob Goede will start on the pole, with Ricky Baker to his outside. Chris Weinkauf, Johnny Sauter, and Jim Sauter Jr. will round out the top five starters. Ty Majeski will start in seventh, and Fredrickson in ninth.


Last year, Ty Majeski left La Crosse as the ARCAMT champion, while Fredrickson left as the race winner. This year looks like it could repeat itself as Majeski leads Shafer Jr by 67 points, and Fredrickson continues to be fast leading up to the race. Racing begins at 12pm CT from La Crosse Speedway with the JMck Invitational race.


Fans unable to make it to the annual Oktoberfest event can watch all of the racing action via a live pay-per-view broadcast on Speed51.com.


-By Caleb Slouha, Speed51.com Midwest Correspondent

-Photo credit: Bruce Nuttleman/Speed51.com

Fredrickson Sets Track Record, Goede on Pole for Oktoberfest