The ARCA Midwest Tour presented by Scag Power Equipment’s 2014 season is three-quarters of the way through. So far there have been three first-time series winners and only one repeat winner in the eight events. The close competition has led to one of the tightest points battles the series has seen this point in the season. The eight races that have led up to this point have been nothing short of exciting.

The season seems to have flown by thus far, starting back in April at Toledo Speedway in Toledo, OH where Brian Campbell took home the victory in the 7-Up 150. Nathan Haseleu was the top finishing Tour driver, finishing in the sixth spot and setting the stage for his season. 
Haseleu followed it up with the victory in the 6th Annual Joe Shear Classic at Madison International Speedway in May, the first ever two-time winner of the event. In his first ever ARCA Midwest Tour debut, Kyle Shear came in a close second followed by Skylar Holzhausen.
The next event was the State Park Speedway 125, which set off a series of podium finishes for Ty Majeski, who is now tied for the top spot in the standings and leads the Rookie of the Year point standings. Tim Sauter won his first ARCA Midwest Tour race followed by Chris Wimmer and Majeski.
Illiana Motor Speedway was next up on the schedule and was a turning point in Majeski’s ARCA Midwest Tour Rookie career. Majeski dominated the day, setting fast time and taking home his first victory in the Calypso Lemonade Border Wars II. Local driver, Eddie Hoffman was second, followed by Jonathan Eilen.
The Swiss Colony Howie Lettow Memorial 150 at the Milwaukee Mile was the fifth event on the 2014 schedule. Kyle Busch Motorsports driver, Erik Jones came home victorious while former ARCA Midwest Touring Star, Griffin McGrath followed up in second and Chad Finley rounded out the top three.
The series saw yet another first time winner in the Calypso Lemonade 100 at Grundy County Speedway. After having a strong car, but a series of bad luck, Chris Weinkauf was finally able to shake the monkey off his back when he won his first Tour race. Ty Majeski came in second after a hard fought battle to the line with Jonathan Eilen who finished third.
Travis Sauter’s victory in the Lester Buildings 100 was no surprise at Dells Raceway Park. Chris Wimmer appeared to have a shot at the victory until mechanical problems forced him to drop out handing the win over to Sauter. Jonathan Eilen was second and once again Ty Majeski had another podium finish.
The most recent event was the Coors Light Summer Shootout presented by McGrath Powersports and Liz Girl Logistics at Hawkeye Downs in Cedar Rapids, IA. Ty Majeski won his second race of the season followed by Grundy County Speedway winner, Chris Weinkauf and Joe Shear Classic winner, Nathan Haseleu. 
With eight races under their belt, Nathan Haseleu and Ty Majeski are tied atop the point standings. Jonathan Eilen is third, followed by Chris Weinkauf. Cardell Potter rounds out the top five.
The four remaining races are at some of the most challenging tracks on the schedule. The next event is the Calypso Lemonade 100 presented by Scag Power Equipment at Wisconsin International Raceway in Kaukauna, WI on August 9th followed by the Norway 100 at Norway Speedway on Friday, August 15th. 
The season will finish up with the 6th Annual Thunderstruck 93 125 at Elko Speedway on September 20th, and the 45th Annual Oktoberfest in West Salem, WI on October 4th and 5th.


Be sure to follow the ARCA Midwest Tour on Facebook (midwest tour) and Twitter (@midwesttour)


To learn more about the Automobile Racing Club of America Midwest Tour, log on For questions call the ARCA Midwest Tour office at (262) 729-4111 or Tim Olson at (612) 327-5831 or Steve Einhaus (630) 212-6022 at or e-mail Tim Olson at [email protected] Steve Einhaus at [email protected].


The ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards has crowned 30 ARCA national champions in 60 seasons since 1953, and has toured over 200 race tracks in 26 states since its inception. The series has tested the abilities of drivers and race teams over the most diverse schedule of stock car racing events in the world, visiting tracks ranging from 0.375 mile to 2.66 miles in length, on both paved and dirt surfaces as well as a left- and right-turn road course in its most recent season.


Founded by John and Mildred Marcum in 1953 in Toledo, Ohio, the Automobile Racing Club of America (ARCA) is recognized among the leading sanctioning bodies in the country. Closing in on completing its sixth decade after hundreds of thousands of miles of racing, ARCA administers over 100 race events each season in four professional touring series and local weekly events. 


– By Kari Shear-Carlson, ARCA Midwest Tour.  Photo credit:

Four Races Remain in Hunt for Midwest Tour Title