Shawn Fleury of Middlesex scored his first career Thunder Road Late Model win on Northfield Savings Bank Holiday Fireworks night on Sunday, July 6. Fleury got the advantage on Brett Gervais on the third and final restart on lap 14 of the 50 lap event and built a large lead over the remainder of the race. The three-time Bond Auto Tiger Sportsmen champion, Fleury returned to the Late Model ranks this year piloting the Toyota Camry out of the Hallstrom Motorsports shop. His win came in just the 7th event of the Thunder Road season.

The pack of Eric Badore, Gervais, Dave Pembroke, Cody Blake and Trampas Demers fought hard for the remaining podium positions over the second half of the event. Pembroke and Demers charged hard in the outside lane and it looked like Pembroke had a shot at second but bounced off the wall with five laps remaining. He saved the car and limped to the finish. Badore had enough to claim second followed by Gervais in third. Blake and Demers completed the top five. Pembroke, Phil Scott, Brooks Clark, Nick Sweet, and Jim Morris rounded out the top ten.

Joe Steffen of Grand Isle edged Scott Coburn at the line for the win in the 35-lap Bond Auto Tiger Sportsmen feature. The duo swapped the lead back and forth during the final laps of the event, but Steffen got the run coming off turn four as they headed to the checkers. Steffen came from the 7th starting spot to take his 11th career Tiger win and move into a tie for third on the all-time Thunder Road Tigers wins list.

Steffen and Coburn were followed across the line by Doug Crowningshield, point leader Jason Woodard and Brendan Moodie completing the top five. Mike Billado, Cameron Ouellette, George May, rookie Caleb Nelson and Tucker Williams earned top tens.

Tommy Smith of Williamstown padded his Allen Lumber Street Stock feature wins record with his 28th career victory. Smith came from 7th in the field for the win and held off a hard charging Garry Bashaw in the late stages of the 25-lap event. Bunker Hodgdon completed the podium while Donny Yates and Jamie Davis rounded out the top five. Alan Maynard, Jamon Perry, Patrick Tibbetts, Jaden Perry and David Whitcomb completed the top ten.

Barre’s Kevin LaForest earned his second straight Rough Rider victory with finishes of 3rd and 1st in the Monza style event. His brother Chris LaForest took second and David Whitcomb in the Killer Bee came home third.

This Thursday, July 10 will be the 35th running of the Vermont Governor’s Cup 150 presented by VP S.E.F. NASCAR Star Clint Bowyer will swap paint with the Thunder Road Late Model stars for 150 laps. Tigers, Streets and Rough Riders will also be in action. Post time will be 6:00pm.

Northfield Savings Bank Night
Thunder Road – Barre, VT
Sunday, July 6, 2014

Late Model Unofficial Results
Pos. Driver (Car #) Hometown
1. Shawn Fleury (1vt) Middlesex, VT

2. #Eric Badore (4vt) Milton, VT

3. Brett Gervais (11nh) Island Pond, VT

4. Cody Blake (99vt) Barre, VT

5. Trampas Demers (85vt) S. Burlington, VT

6. Dave Pembroke (44vt) Middlesex, VT

7. Phil Scott (14vt) Middlesex, VT

8. Brooks Clark (68vt) Fayston, VT

9. Nick Sweet (88vt) Barre, VT

10. Boomer Morris (13vt) Barre, VT

11. John Donahue (26vt) Graniteville, VT

12. Jason Corliss (66vt) Barre, VT

13. Emily Packard (9me) E. Montpelier, VT

14. Derrick O’Donnell (60vt) N. Haverhill, NH

15. #Josh Demers (10vt) Montpelier, VT

16. Ricky Roberts (3vt) E. Barre, VT

17. Scott Dragon (16vt) Colchester, VT

18. #Jason Allen (29vt) Barre, VT

19. Kyle Pembroke (27vt) Montpelier, VT

20. Joey M. Laquerre (51vt) E. Montpelier, VT

21. Eric Chase (40vt) Milton, VT

22. Mark Norris (22me) Farmington, ME

23. Joey Laquerre (15vt) East Montpelier, VT

24. Lance Allen (17vt) Barre, VT

25. Terry Reil (11vt) E. Barre, VT

-Thunder Road Speedbowl Press Release. Photo Credit: Alan Ward

Fleury Scores First Late Model Win at Thunder Road