Flashback Friday: Mardy Lindley Wins Eventful Pro Cup Race

During this week’s edition of “Wayback Wednesday,” we spoke about Butch Lindley and his success in the 1980’s.  But Butch wasn’t the only Lindley who found success behind the wheel of a race car.  Today, we flashback to the Speed51 archives to a day when Bob Dillner inked a story about Butch’s son, Mardy Lindley.


On this day in 2004, Lindley scored an eventful Pro Cup Series victory at South Boston Speedway.  While Lindley celebrated in victory lane, a pair of drivers were upset with calls made by race officials, and they spoke their mind after the race.


Read more about what went down that day in our archives: http://www.speed51archives.com/pro_cup_sobo04.html


Overall, Mardy Lindley won 11 races in his career and was the 2001 Pro Cup Series North champion.


Today, Lindley is a championship winning crew chief with GMS Racing and has won titles in what is now the ARCA Menards Series East with Sam Mayer (2019), Harrison Burton (2017) and Dylan Kwasniewski (2013) .  Chances are you will hear his name for years to come if he continues to find success on top of the pit box.


Other Racing Events on This Date


1977 – Bob Senneker swept a pair of ASA Late Model races at Winchester Speedway (IN).  The 30-lap features were nothing like the Winchester 400s he would win on the high banks.  In his career, based on known statistics, Senneker won 19 out of 36 races at Winchester.  That includes his first seven starts and his seven Winchester 400 wins.


1988 – The Icebreaker at Thompson was the third race of the 1988 NASCAR Modified Tour season.  Mike Ewanitsko, who had 28 career wins on the NASCAR Modified Tour, scored his first Thompson win on this date.  Ewanitsko had three career wins at Thompson, but the rack was not as kind on other occasions.  He mustered only 10 top-five finishes in 58 career starts.


1994 – Oxford Plains Speedway was the backdrop and Jeff Taylor was the winner over Ralph Nason and Tracy Gordon to kick off the 1994 ACT season.  This would be Taylor’s only ACT Pro Stock win, as the 1994 season was a battle between Gordon and fellow Oxford ace Mike Rowe.  With four wins, Rowe won the title over Gordon by 15 points.


2004 – Trivia Question: Who won the first PASS Modified race?  It was Ben Rowe at White Mountain Motorsports Park (NH). Steve Reno was second. Rowe has 14 wins at the track across five different series. That comes with an average finish of 5.57.


2004 – Kirk Alexander won the first ever Modified Racing Series event at Monadnock Speedway (NH). He led all 100 laps and held off Dwight Jarvis on his way to victory lane.  Alexander won four of the first six races that year, but the next season was where he really made his mark by winning 11 of the 17 races.  His 31 career wins are the most in series history.


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Speed51 Stat Boy

-Photo credit: Pro Cup Fan Photo

Flashback Friday: Mardy Lindley Wins Eventful Pro Cup Race