Five SLM All-Stars Receive Super Select Invites

The list of invitees to the 2019 Speed51 Super Select at Lucas Oil Raceway (IN) on September 7 continues to grow, with five more Super Late Model all-stars receiving their golden ticket to participate in the $10,000-to-win, winner-take-all special.


Initially planned for September 2018, the inaugural Speed51 Super Select was postponed to 2019 due to the effects of Tropical Storm Gordon.  This year’s event, which will be held during Brickyard 400 Weekend, will once again be promoted by Track Enterprises and sanctioned by the Champion Racing Association (CRA).


Those who accept their invitation to compete in the race will join the “Select Team” for the $10,000-to-win race.


First among the latest list of invitees is Eddie MacDonald.  The Rowley, Massachusetts native claimed his 11thwin at New Hampshire Motor Speedway in June, beating out Mike Hopkins in a photo-finish for the Pro All Stars Series (PASS) 50 at the New England Short Track Showdown.


Also joining the list is this year’s Slinger Nationals winner, Matt Kenseth.  The 2003 NASCAR Cup Champion and two-time Daytona 500 winner claimed this year’s prestigious event at Slinger Speedway (WI) with a last-lap pass of Ty Majeski to conclude a thrilling 13-lap battle to the finish.


Johnny VanDoorn is also receiving an invitation to the Speed51 Super Select.  The three-time ARCA/CRA Super Series Champion claimed a grueling and emotional victory in the Redbud 400 at Anderson Speedway (IN) to earn his invitation.


The fourth invitation goes to Cassius Clark for a big win north of the border.  The Farmington, Maine resident took the checkered flag in the prestigious IWK 250 at Riverside International Speedway (NS), becoming the first driver to win all three of the Maritime 250 events.


Lastly, Owen Riddle receives an invitation to the Super Select following his own dramatic victory. Riddle won the Montana 200 at Montana Raceway Park, his third win in the last five years in the event.


A pair of features will be contested on September 7, one for the Super Late Models and a 100-lap race for the USAC Silver Crown Series.  There will also be a 50-lap Super Late Model race that will be open to all drivers to compete in.  That race will transfer more drivers into the Super Select field.


The full list of drivers currently invited to the Speed51 Super Select can be found below.  Entry forms for the race will be available soon and an official entry list will be available soon after.


Current Speed51 Super Select Invitees


Josh Brock – 2019 North/South SLM Challenge

Giovanni Bromante – 2019 Rattler 250

Harrison Burton – 2018 Rattler 250

Kyle Busch – 2018 SRL Winter Showdown

Brian Campbell – 2019 Money in the Bank 150

Jeff Choquette – 2018 Winchester 400

Cassius Clark – 2019 IWK 250

Matt Craig – SSS Rumble by the River 125

Noah Gragson – 2018 Snowball Derby

Derek Griffith – 2019 Orange Blossom 100/PASS Wins

Matt Kenseth – 2019 Slinger Nationals

Eddie MacDonald – 2019 PASS at New Hampshire Motor Speedway

Ty Majeski – 2019 SRL Winter Showdown

Austin Nason – 2019 Father’s Day 100 at Milwaukee

Stephen Nasse – 2019 Short Track U.S. Nationals

Connor Okrzesik – 2019 CRA SpeedFest

Preston Peltier – 2019 Summer Showdown

Bubba Pollard – 2018 Oxford 250

Owen Riddle – 2019 Montana 200

Derek Thorn – 2019 SRL wins at Las Vegas and Madera

Johnny VanDoorn – 2019 Redbud 400

Brett Yackey – 2018 Kulwicki Driver Development Program Champion


-Story by: Zach Evans, Southeast Editor – Twitter: @ztevans

-Photo credit: photo

Five SLM All-Stars Receive Super Select Invites