June 20th was added to the schedule to make up for some early weather misfortunes. Rock 94.7 and fast racing action proved to be a great combination that was highlighted by first time winners.

In the Super Stock division, it was Matt Raykowski (6) continuing his strong hold on fast time honors. Marv Flick (90) and Brian Weinfurter (24) each took home heat wins. In the feature, it was Matt Pyburn (71) picking up victory number 1 of 2014 over Weinfurter. John Zuch (8), Flick and Brad Scholze (87) rounded out the top 5. Weinfurter maintains a 17 point lead over Raykowski. For Pyburn, it was a busy night because he was running his Super Late Model as well.

Element Mobile Super Late Model fast time went to Mark Eswein, driving the 36 car tonight. Matt Pyburn (71), Wyatt Blashe (78) and Travis Volm (7-11) all picked up heat wins. There was a last chance race again and Ted Reichenberger (20) and Pyburn were the 2 cars to advance out of that race to the main event. The feature saw Jeff Weinfurter (3) jump out to the early lead, but Eugene Gregorich Jr. showed he was the strongest car of the night. Gregorich pulled away for the win, which was his first for the season, and Travis Volm finished 2nd. Natalie Decker (04), Eswein and Frank Nitzke (18) wrapped up the top 5. Nitzke is the current leader in the points, 10 ahead of Natalie and Gregorich who are tied for 2nd.

The Rock 94.7 Pure Stocks found a familiar face with fast time as Kyle Genett (16X) continued his undefeated streak in qualifying. The heat races were won by Hunter Cramer (66) and Kyle Genett. In the feature race, Kyle Genett completed the clean sweep picking up the win, his first of the year. Second was Jake Capek (81), third Dean Ashbacher (38), fourth Karl Genett (16K) and fifth Dan Weinfurter (4). Scott Ciesielski (72) had a great run going until mechanical issue ended his night. Kyle holds a 12 point lead over Capek in the standings.

The 4-Cylinder Stock division again put on an entertaining show. Dillon Mackesy picked up fast time for the 2nd week in a row. Isaiah Rowe (96) and Cheri Kurth (07) grabbed heat wins. During the feature event, there was 4 and for a second 5 wide racing as drivers tried to move to the front. The yellow flag came out though for Nikki Coulthurst (17) and Luke Betro (1) making contact in turns 3 and 4. Betro shot up the track and made contact with Corey Stephens (3) sending him into the front stretch sand dune and also blocking the track for Dillon Mackesy. The damage would spell the end of the night for Dillon. Coulthurst was able to make her way back up to the front and took a shot at the win, but was not able to pass Jarrod Dolph (2). Dolph picked up his first feature win, Coulthurst took 2nd, Cheri Kurth 3rd with Betro and Rowe completing the top 5. Coulthurst is now in the point lead with 174 points. George Seliger (06) is 1 point back.

In the Cruiser division, Kuhn and Mancil (126) took home the win. Second was Helbach and Helbach (27) and 3rd was the 5.0 of Carlson and Carlson. Carlson and Carlson hold a 1 point advantage in the standings over the tie for 2nd between Poeschel and Fourness (69) and Helbach and Helbach.

The next event at Golden Sands Speedway is this Friday June 27th. There will be Fireworks! Also on tap is the Paul Gross Jeweler’s Powder Puff qualifier #3. The Super Stocks, Element Mobile Super Late Models, Rock 94.7 Pure Stocks, 4-Cylinder Stocks will all be in action. Gates open at 4:30, Time Trials at 6:30 and racing at 7:45.

First Wins Highlight Action at Golden Sands