First-Time Winner Crowned in Millbridge Micro Sprints

Wednesday night at Millbridge Speedway (NC) produced a first-time winner in the 600cc Micro Sprints, as Gavan Boschele scored the victory in the 30-lap feature race.


Boschele withstood a challenge from Sam Corry on the opening laps before Corry was forced pitside with a mechanical issue, then fended off Tim Nye and pulled away on the ensuing restart for the win.


“The car was rolling tonight,” said Boschele.  “We just got lucky with lapped traffic.  It all came out good tonight.”


Earlier in the night, Boschele found speed near the bottom of the 1/6-mile circuit.  However, a rain delay held up the Micro Sprint feature and changed the racing surface.  That, along with traffic forced Boschele to make an important adjustment.


“In the hot laps, the bottom was good.  I saw everyone go to the bottom, so I just had to go where they’re not and I ended up being faster.”


Boschele had moved up to the Micro Sprints after racing Intermediate Outlaw Karts at Millbridge in 2019.  It is still a learning process for Boschele, but the results are starting to show.


“It’s definitely been hard. It’s all a process, and now we’re finally getting it.”


Hailie Deegan finished second in her second trip to Millbridge, with Max McLaughlin completing the podium.  Former winner Brent Crews finished fourth, with Tim Nye rounding out the top five.


Race fans can watch a replay of Wednesday’s racing at Millbridge Speedway by clicking here.


-Story by: Zach Evans, Speed51 Content Supervisor – Twitter: @ztevans

-Photo credit: Speed51 Photo


Micro Sprint Results – Millbridge Speedway, July 8


  1. Gavan Boschele
  2. Hailie Deegan
  3. Max McLaughlin
  4. Brent Crews
  5. Tim Nye
  6. Ayden Reeves
  7. Nick Drake
  8. Neal Allison
  9. Matt Francis
  10. Trevor Cline
  11. Sam Corry
  12. Joey Robinson
  13. Eli Adams
  14. Austin Barnhill
  15. John Nicholson


First-Time Winner Crowned in Millbridge Micro Sprints