LAKE VIEW, SC (August 17) – Pine Level, NC’s Dustin Mitchell took the lead from polesitter Ben Stanton at the drop of the green flag to lead every lap and claim the Late Model win Friday night at Lake View Motor Speedway. With his victory, Mitchell also took the $2000 bounty on Lake View points leader, Willie Milliken, for a total of $3,200 in winnings.


In qualifying, Rock Hill, SC driver, Ben Watkins, sped to the pole position over the 22-car field with a lap of 16.830 seconds around the fast 3/8-mile speedway. But, at the drop of the green flag, Mitchell got the advantage over Watkins, while fourth place starter, Milliken, spun over the banking in turn one.


Russell Erwin would slip by Watkins for second, but did not have enough to catch Mitchell, who sped to his first win of the season at Lake View. Following Mitchell and Irwin to the checkered flag were Watkins, Shaun Harrell, and Daulton Wilson. Rounding out the top ten were Steven Blanton, Matthew Bissette, Chris Blackwell, Milliken, and Zachary Cox.


In the Super Street division, Myrtle Beach, SC’s Benji Thompson powered around Greg Cain and led the rest of the way for his second win of the season. Following Thompson and Cain at the finish were Luke Owens, Johnny Moore, and Robbie Disher.


Tony Williams, III led flag-to-flag from the pole to take the win his first win of the season in the Pure Stock division. Following him at the checkers were Brad Harrelson, Tim Lovett, Michael Butler, and Buck Causey.


Richard “Rowdy” Seals got the best of leader, Glenn Register, on the final restart to take his fifth UCAR win this year. Edward McNamara got caught up in a skirmish ahead of him and ended up on his roof in turn two. McNamara was uninjured in the incident. Following Seals at the finish were Register, and “Joker Style” Kyle Jenks.


Fair Bluff, NC’s Kevin Weatherford took his sixth win of the year over James Manning, Jason Adams, Jason Floyd, and Chris Gerald.
The Bell & Bell Vintage Cars were in action with Harry Floyd taking the win in the Sportsman division over Joey Babson and Mike Daurity. Cameron Norris, IV was the Pro Modified winner, while Sherman Garris took the 6 Cylinder win and Carl Smith was the Senior division winner.


Lake View Motor Speedway will be in action again on tonight with a huge night of racing and fireworks, I-95 Challenger Series Late Models, Open Wheel Modifieds, Super Street, Pure Stock, 4-Cylinders, and UCars. Be sure to “Like” Lake View Motor Speedway on Facebook, follow @LakeViewDirt on Twitter to keep up on all that’s going on in 2018 or visit


-Lake View Speedway Press Release

-Photo credit: Lake View Speedway

First-Time Winner Claims Milliken Bounty at Lake View