The 53rd Annual Florida Governor’s Cup at New Smyrna Speedway (FL) will be held this Sunday, November 12. Recently, track officials released the list of expected entries for the 200-lap, $15,000-to-win Super Late Model race.


Leading the list of expected entries for the race is Super Late Model star Bubba Pollard of Senoia, Georgia.  Pollard enters this year’s Florida Governor’s Cup following a career-best runner-up finish in 2017.  Despite never winning the Governor’s Cup, Pollard is a two-time winner of the Red Eye 100 at New Smyrna.


Two-time Florida Governor’s Cup winner Jeff Choquette has filed an entry for the event following his recent victory in the Winchester 400.  Choquette will be looking to capture the cup for the first time since the 2007 season.


Stephen Nasse, the 2018 World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing champion, has entered the event and will be racing for his first Florida Governor’s Cup trophy.


NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver and former World Series Pro Late Model champion Spencer Davis plans to return to New Smyrna Speedway for a shot at the Governor’s Cup.  The Dawsonville, Georgia driver will be making his first start in a Super Late Model in nearly a year.


Another Georgia boy, Chris Dilbeck, has entered the race after scoring his first career CARS Tour victory earlier this year.  Dilbeck will be making his Florida Governor’s Cup debut.


Corey Heim, who scored his first Super Late Model victory last weekend during the CARS Tour finale at South Boston, has also entered the event.


Speaking of firsts, 15-year-old Giovanni Bromante is scheduled to make his first career Super Late Model start at the Governor’s Cup.  The youngster from Lattingtown, New York stole headlines earlier this year when he defeated a strong field of Pro Late Models at Montgomery Motor Speedway (AL).


The driver likely traveling the furthest to compete at New Smyrna this weekend will be Roscoe, Illinois native Austin Nason, who is coming off a two-win season with the ARCA Midwest Tour.


As always, a strong contingent of local drivers will be looking to keep the Governor’s Cup in the state of Florida.  2018 track champion Brad May, David Rogers, Daniel Keene, Jr. and Anthony Sergi are all expected to compete in the 200-lap race.


New Smyrna Speedway regular Doug Elliott has also filed an official entry for the race, while Harold Crooms has filed an entry for his new Super Late Model.


The four-car team of Robert Ford, Jeff Gordon, John Coffman and Mark Wilkins has also entered the event.


According to Facebook, Twitter and team websites, former Governor’s Cup winner Travis Cope, former Snowball Derby winner Steve Wallace, Jett Noland, Harold Fair, Jr. and Hayden Sprague are expected to enter as well.


In addition to the 200-lap Super Late Model feature, the Pro Late Models will race 100 laps in the “Prelude to the Cup.” Early entries include Jamie Skinner, Cole Anderson, 2018 Pro Late Champ Dawson Fletcher and Jeff Johnston. Many more entries are expected as many of the track’s local drivers have not yet entered this event.


Driver planning to compete during Florida Governor’s Cup Weekend are encouraged to file their entry forms at the following link:


-Story by Brandon Paul, Editor – Twitter: @Brandon_Paul51

-Photo credit:

First Look at Entries for Governor’s Cup 200 at New Smyrna