First Ever Speed51 Super Select Just One Month Away

Fans of Super Late Model racing and from all across the racing world have been eagerly counting down the days to one of the most anticipated events in the history of the sport. The inaugural Speed51 Super Select, an all-star invitation-only shootout for $10,000 will see today’s best SLM hotshoes going at it in a winner-take-all 75-lap slugfest at Lucas Oil Raceway (IN).


This bold new addition to the nation’s Super Late Model schedule comes after a one-year postponement, following appalling weather conditions that plagued the Indianapolis area and much of the Midwest for three days last September. Undaunted, Speed51 along with the ARCA/CRA Super Series, Track Enterprises and Lucas Oil Raceway are set for take two on Saturday night, September 7.


The United States Auto Club will also be in attendance, with the USAC Silver Crown Champ Car Series continuing their long history at one of the most prominent racing facilities in Indiana, with the 100-lap Rich Vogler Classic.


All this will be taking place as a part of the larger racing weekend in Indianapolis as the stars of the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series and NASCAR Xfinity Series will take to the historic Indianapolis Motor Speedway for the Brickyard 400 weekend.


For the Super Late Models, the current list of invited drivers stands at 22, with many drivers earning race wins and championships in the last 11 months, as well as a couple of drivers who had carry-over invitations from aborted 2018 Speed51 Super Select.


Between now and Labor Day, the possibility for additional invitees exists with a number of marquee Super Late Model events to be contested in the coming weeks. For those who missed the cut, there is still a chance to make the big 75-lap show. A 50-lap Open-Show for any driver left looking to race their way into the main event, with a minimum of two and a maximum of four competitors to make the step up.


Here is the current list of invitees:


Josh Brock – 2019 North/South SLM Challenge

Giovanni Bromante – 2019 Rattler 250

Harrison Burton – 2018 Rattler 250

Kyle Busch – 2018 SRL Winter Showdown

Brian Campbell – 2019 Money in the Bank 150

Jeff Choquette – 2018 Winchester 400

Cassius Clark – 2019 IWK 250

Matt Craig – SSS Rumble by the River 125

Noah Gragson – 2018 Snowball Derby

Derek Griffith – 2019 Orange Blossom 100/PASS Wins

Matt Kenseth – 2019 Slinger Nationals

Eddie MacDonald – 2019 PASS at New Hampshire Motor Speedway

Ty Majeski – 2019 SRL Winter Showdown

Austin Nason – 2019 Father’s Day 100 at Milwaukee

Stephen Nasse – 2019 Short Track U.S. Nationals

Connor Okrzesik – 2019 CRA SpeedFest

Preston Peltier – 2019 Summer Showdown

Bubba Pollard – 2018 Oxford 250

Owen Riddle – 2019 Montana 200

Derek Thorn – 2019 SRL wins at Las Vegas and Madera

Johnny VanDoorn – 2019 Redbud 400

Brett Yackey – 2018 Kulwicki Driver Development Program Champion


Stay with in the month ahead for more on the Speed51 Super Select.


-51 Sports Press Release

First Ever Speed51 Super Select Just One Month Away