COEBURN, Va. – Saturday night wrapped up the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series season at Lonesome Pine Raceway. The season began in early April and marked the return of NASCAR racing to the historic 0.375-mile oval.


Once the smoke settled, Knoxville’s Chad Finchum was holding the championship crown, while Kres VanDyke and Ryan Stiltner split victories in the twin 40-lap features for the Wallace KIA LMSC division.


Ryan Stiltner set fast time in “Shootout Style” qualifying to place his No. 22 machine on the pole for the first 40-lap feature.


Stiltner and VanDyke would battle door-to-door for eight circuits until VanDyke completed the pass. The race’s only caution waved on lap 32 when Adam Gray and Brian Blevins – battling for sixth-place real-estate — made contact and sent Blevins into the inside wall.


VanDyke would elect the outside for the eight-lap shootout to the finich, placing Stiltner on the inside. VanDyke would pull Stiltner slightly on the outside, but Stiltner would hold his line and charge back on the bottom. Stiltner’s run would not be enough, as VanDyke would hold him off to claim his fourth win of the season at Lonesome Pine.


“We came into the night wanting to get to 10 wins for the season and we did,” said VanDyke. “We began the season with a win, and now we closed it out with a win.”


VanDyke also claimed the Kingsport (Tenn.) Speedway LMSC championship and the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Tennessee State championship for 2014. “The crew worked hard at it,” added VanDyke. “We’ve all worked at (a championship) since 2001. We came back for a few races (at Kingsport) in 2012, ran a full season in 2013 and then claimed the championship in 2014.”


After winning the first 40-lap feature, Kres VanDyke was awarded the pole position for the second feature. VanDyke would choose the outside lane to begin the race, placing Ryan Stiltner on the inside.


From the drop of the green flag, VanDyke and Stiltner would do battle on the high banks. As the two began to pull away from third-place Chad Finchum, they continued to race door-to-door. With 12 laps of neck and neck action under their belts, Stiltner would get a run off of the bottom groove and take over the top spot.


Stiltner held on to lead the remaining laps to claim his second Late Model victory of the season.


“It’s a great way to cap off the season with another victory,” said Stiltner. “We had a great car tonight. We started on the pole for the first race and finished second, then we started second to VanDyke in the second race and worked passed him on lap 12 to win.”


Chad Finchum brought home a third-place and fourth-place finish. The back-to-back top-five finishes would propel Finchum into the Late Model Stock championship.


“We came into this weekend knowing we had three shots to get our 20th win,” said Finchum. We tried our heart out, but we knew we were on verge of getting this championship.


“We went out for the first race, had a good run, and finished fourth. We knew that mathematically, after the first race, that we had the championship locked up,” added Finchum on winning the championship. “I can’t thank everyone enough for what they’ve done this year. We’ve got the 2013 championship at Kingsport and now the 2014 championship at Lonesome Pine, we couldn’t ask for anything more.”


Joey Sykes dominated the Street Stock feature, but an issue in post-race inspection would place Kirby Gobble as the winner. Gobble was also able to claim the Street Stock championship.


Bruce Crumbley returned to Pure-4 action this weekend. Crumbley pulled to the lead on the opening lap.


After four circuits, a spin in turn one would force the caution to be displayed. Back under green, Jason Ketron would begin to battle to the inside of Crumbley. Crumbley was able to hold Ketron off until lap 16, when Ketron powered his No. 26 to the outside and take over the lead


Jason Ketron would lead all the remaining laps to claim the Pure-4 victory.


After an incident with two laps remaining, points leader John Ketron would finish in ninth-place. Ketron’s ninth-place would barely be enough to win the championship by only two points over Jason Ketron.


Rusty Clendenin would find himself a victim of a two-car incident on lap four of the Rookie Pure-4 feature. Clendenin would battle back through the field after the restart to take back the lead from Craig Phelps.


Clendenin would claim his sixth checkered flag of the season, while Jackson Austin would clinch the Rookie Pure-4 championship.


Roby Orr found his way back to victory lane after qualifying on the pole for the Pure Street race; Nasty Jones and Duke Bare rounded out the top three. Bare’s third-place victory was just enough for him to claim the Pure Street championship over the No. 13 of Nasty Jones.


Elvis McCoy won the Iron Warriors feature and took home the championship for the division.


-Lonesome Pine Raceway Press Release.  Photo Credit: Drew Hierwater/


September 20, 2014 Results:

LMSC Race No. 1:
1. 15 Kres VanDyke
2. 22 Ryan Stiltner
3. 31 Thomas Beane
4. 19 Chad Finchum*
5. 2 Keith Stiltner
6. 64 Tyler Goodwin
7. 37 Adan Gray
8. 66 Austin Peters
9. 55 Mardy Roberts
10. 97 Brian Blevins
11. 34 Terry Stone
12. 17 Kevin Wolfe

LMSC Race No. 2:
1. 22 Ryan Stiltner
2. 15 Kres VanDyke
3. 19 Chad Finchum*
4. 31 Thomas Beane
5. Keith Stiltner
6. 64 Tyler Goowin
7. 66 Austin Peters
8. 37 Adam Gray
9. 55 Mardy Robets
10. 34 Terry Stone
DNS. 97 Brian Blevins
DNS. 17 Kevin Wolfe

Street Stock:
1. 3 Kirby Gobble*
2. 74 Jared Broadbent
3. 18 Rob Austin
4. 48 Royce Peters
5. 11 Jamie Meadows
6. 3 Greg Grindstaff
7. 11 Sam Hurd
8. 21 Doug Austin
9. 8 Chris Tunnell
10. 1 Jamie Whitt
11. 27 Tommy Hess
12. 21 Kevin Saam
DQ. Joey Sykes

1. 88 Joshua Gobble*
2. 45 Billy Duty
3. 7 Dennis Arnold
4. 44 John McClanahan
DNS. 3 Rocky Yates

1. Jason Ketron
2. Bruce Crumbley
3. 00 Billy Ketorn
4. 66 Tim Abelseth
5. 94 Tom Hodges
6. 16 Jackie Jaskson
7. 77 Jay Swecker
8. 88 Dan Hall
8. 88 Dan Hall
9. 26 John Ketron*
10. 06 Bill Livesay
11. 14 Jonathan Feagins
12. 27 Mark Meade
13. 12 David Street
14. 6 Barry Meade
15. 22 Jason Yates

Rookie Pure-4:
1. 94 Rusty Clendenin
2. 00 Craig Phelps
3. 53 Mook Jeter
4. 34 Derrick Gilliam
5. 16 Michael Nelson
6. 5 BJ Large
7. 11 Jackson Austin*
8. 27 Chris Meade
9. 06 William Jones
10. 12 Kenneth Street
11. 88 James Gailey
12. 28 Alvin Jackson
13. 6 Jack Clevenger

Pure Street:
1. A1 Roby Orr
2. 13 Nasty Jones
3. 52 Duke Bare
4. 33 Iggy Greer
5. 9 Rusty Ratliff
6. 9 Hershell Robintte
7. 14 Emma Stiltner

Finchum Scores Lonesome Pine LMSC Championship