Final Trophies Claimed From 2019 Red-White-Blue Series

KAUKAUNA, WI — Seymour’s Ty Majeski turned in a most dominating performance at Wisconsin International Raceway in Kaukauna. Majeski won both 35 lap late model features, scoring a dash win and netted fast time to score a sweep.


Meanwhile with his second place finish in the second 35 lap main Reedsville’s Maxwell Schultz captured his second Red, White and Blue state championship series.


Champions were crowned in the respective divisions in all the divisions for the Red, White & Blue series. In addition to Schultz other champions included Neenah’s Braison Bennett (late models), Appleton’s Kyle Quella (sport trucks), Peter Wilz (Menasha), Emery and Evan Beattie of Little Chute (Sizzlin’ 4’s) and Mike Meyerhofer from Hilbert (Figure 8s).


In the first 35 lap feature Jesse Oudenhoven outraced fellow front row starter Alex Stumpf into the lead at the drop of the green. “Rowdy Oudy” built up a four car length cushion in no time. In the meantime Majeski, who started eighth in the field, charged to fourth by lap three and motored around Casey Johnson to take second on lap six.


Majeski quickly chased down Oudenhoven and passed him for the lead on lap 8. A caution flew two circuits later when Michael Anthony and Alex Seidl tangled in turn one. When racing resumed Majeski picked up where he left off and built a comfortable margin over the balance of the field. The Seymour Speedster was never headed and breezed to victory. Trailing at the checkers in the first 35 lapper were Johnson, Oudenhoven, Stumpf and Brent Strelka.


With the invert in the second 35 lapper Majeski started seventh with Maxwell Schultz sprinting into the lead at the drop of the green. The contest wasn’t three laps old when Michael Anthony spun, drawing an amber. When racing resumed Schultz kept the top spot with Stumpf and Johnson in tow. Majeski began sifting his way through the field, wrestling second away from Stumpf on lap 15 and quickly reeled Schultz in and passed him on lap 17. A Taylor Haufschildt spin with eight laps remaining tightened the field on Majeski’s bumper. On the restart a melee ensued on turn two which stacked up the cars of Andy Monday, Jeff Van Oudenhoven, Robby Iverson and Kyle Calmes.


After a cleanup racing resumed and cruised to an easy win. “You don’t get nights like this that happen very often,” Majeski said. “We use this race pretty much as a test for the Dixieland Tuesday. We changed some things on the front end. It’s one of the top five fastest cars I’ve ever had in my career. I haven’t won the Dixieland yet so that’s a race I want to knock off my bucket list.”


Green Bay’s Eddie Muenster led wire-to-wire and captured his second late model feature of the season. Nate Van Wychen closed the gap in the final laps but settled for second at the pay window. Bryan Monday, Braison Bennett and Chase Randerson placed third through fifth, respectively. “We’ve been picking away the car and we had a horrible qualifying effort tonight,” Muenster said. “We had a decent starting spot tonight and that really helped us tonight.”


Tony Wilz of Menasha picked a big night to win his first career street stock race. Wilz captured the “Stan The Man” Memorial street stock feature, fending off a hard charging Wayne Sonkowsky at the checkers. Former track champion Dylan Wenzel placed third, followed by Jeff Treml and Larry Raygo.


Wilz wasn’t the only quarter-mile driver to capture their first feature flag. Rookie Taylor Rahn of De Pere snapped Kyle Quella’s win streak at six by beating Quella at the checkers to play spoiler. Quella took second, followed by Mike Byrge, fast qualifier Jason Van Handel and Kylee Vandermoss.


Shawano’s Jasper Drengler kept the streak of first time WIR feature winners by capturing the second Sizzlin’ 4 main event. Chilton’s Mitch Meyerhofer captured the first Sizzlin’ 4 main event.


Kaukauna’s Craig Vanderwettering emerged victorious in the Figure 8 feature.


Next week features a busy weekend of racing at the WIR oval. On Tuesday night August 6 the “Traditional Tuesday Biggie” The Dixieland 250 will be run as the ARCA Midwest Tour rolls into town. 48 hours later “Thursday Night Thunder” resumes August 8 with the Appleton Breakfast Rotary Club Night sponsoring the action. The WIR ¼ Mile late models will be in action. Racing gets underway at 6:30 p.m. You can check for more information or follow the club’s Facebook page.


SUPER LATE MODEL FEATURES 1st) – Ty Majeski, Seymour; Casey Johnson, Edgerton; Jesse Oudenhoven, Kaukauna; Alex Stumpf, Woodville; Brent Strelka, Freedom; Maxwell Schultz, Reedsville; Bobby Kendall, Montello; Sawyer Effertz, Darboy; Andy Monday, Appleton; Jeff Van Oudenhoven, Appleton; Grant Griesbach, Pewaukee; Kyle Calmes, Freedom; Robby Iverson, Escanaba, MI; Lowell Bennett, Neenah; Michael Anthony, Appleton; Randy Schuler, Mequon; Taylor Haufschildt, De Pere; Alex Seidl, Appleton; Pete Vandermolen Jr., Oshkosh; Tim Springstroh, Freedom; Mickey Schallie, Darboy; Corey Manders, Hilbert

2nd) Majeski; Schultz; Stumpf; Johnson; Strelka; Kendall; Effertz; Bennett; Oudenhoven; Anthony; Monday; Griesbach; Haufschildt; Schuler; Van Oudenhoven; Iverson; Calmes; Schallie; Seidl; Springstroh; Vandermolen Jr.; Manders


-Wisconsin International Raceway Press Release

-Photo credit: Speed51

Final Trophies Claimed From 2019 Red-White-Blue Series