TULSA, Okla. — With Friday’s preliminary action pushing the 34th Lucas Oil Tulsa Shootout through race No. 225, the field of Golden Driller hopefuls is starting to take shape as four drivers are already locked into three championship events, with a dozen past champions in the mix.


Locking into both divisions of A-Class as well as Outlaw, California’s Jake Hagopian is joined by Delaware’s Kyle Spence on the three lock-in bracket with the Bear native scoring starting spots in Outlaw, Non-Wing Outlaw, and Stock Non-Wing. A banner year for Nebraska’s Trey Gropp, the No. 54 will see action in Stock Non-Wing, A-Class, and Non-Wing Outlaw with Indiana’s Zeb Wise proving his worth in A-Class, Stock Non-Wing, and the pole of the Outlaw Non-Wing event.


Among the past champions in the field, a sum of 26 Golden Drillers is accounted for since 2001. Leading the win count is Blake Hahn who will look for his eighth win with a front row start in the Xcel 600cc Modified.


With four wins to his credit, Frank Flud will take the green in both Outlaw divisions with the night’s 55 Lap finale going green at his pace. Brady Bacon with a trio of past wins will roll to the green in both Outlaw events. Jonathan Beason at two wins is locked into both Stock classes with his No. 36 gracing the pole of the Non-Wing feature.


Winning three Golden Drillers one year ago, Jason McDougal will have to fight a little more as the No. 73 holds a spot in Non-Wing Outlaw with a good shot at defending his 2018 triumph from the right of the pole positions. Chris Cochran (2013-Stock Non-Wing), Corey Day (2018-Restricted), Joe B. Miller (2017-Outlaw), Scott Sawyer (2006-A-Class), Shawn Wicker (2001-Sportsman), Tristan Guardino (2017-Non-Wing Outlaw), and Ty Hulsey (2017-ECOtec Midget) make up the list of former race winners.


With 50 races scheduled for Saturday, January 5, 2019, the day’s events will start at 9:00 A.M. (CT) with B-Features for Stock Non-Wing kicking off the day. Opening Ceremonies is tentatively set for 2:00 P.M., depending on how the day’s B-Features play out. All seating is General Admission adults getting in for $20. Children 10 and under, with a paid adult, get in for free. Pit Passes are $40.


Live PPV coverage is provided online at http://www.racinboys.com for those who cannot make the trip.


The Lucas Oil Tulsa Shootout takes place at the Tulsa Expo Raceway, located inside the River Spirit Expo Center in Tulsa, Okla. All official rules, event information, and dates are online at http://www.tulsashootout.com. Get updates on Facebook as well as Twitter (@TulsaShootout).


-Tulsa Shootout Press Release

-Photo credit: Richard Bales

Field Nearly Set for 34th Lucas Oil Tulsa Shootout Finale