With a few minutes to spare until the clock hit 11 p.m. on Sunday night it was officially “Fergy Time” at South Carolina’s Cherokee Speedway. The Mount Holly, North Carolina native grabbed the win and the $5,000 check for winning the 40-lap Mike Butler Memorial for the Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series in dominating fashion.


Ferguson started second, alongside pole-sitter Benji Hicks and grabbed the lead in lapped traffic with 14 laps complete when Hicks slid wide in turn one.


Joey Coulter followed Ferguson by Hicks and tried to slide underneath Ferguson in turn three but to no avail.


“I could tell he was getting freer in lapped traffic,” said Ferguson. “I was trying to bide my time. I wasn’t trying to push the issue because I knew the track slicked off more than what people thought. He barely slipped up in lapped traffic. You have to take any opportunity you can get to win races. If there’s a hole you have to fill it.”


From there, it was smooth sailing for Ferguson. When he caught lapped traffic, he was able to easily maneuver his way through and keep growing his lead.


Even with a late-race restart, Ferguson was still able to beat Joey Coulter to the checkered flag by 3.27 seconds.


Ferguson’s victory is his 17thCarolina Clash Super Late Model Series win in his career, which puts him fourth on the overall win list. It is also his fifth Carolina Clash triumph at Cherokee Speedway.


“I think a lot of it has to do with my style of driving,” said Ferguson when asked why he’s so good at Cherokee. “Even when it slicks off you have to be on the throttle. You have to be driving hard.”


Joey Coulter was able to hold on to finish in the runner-up spot. Johnny Pursley came home in third, followed by Ross Bailes and Benji Hicks, who rounded out the top five.


Jimmy McNamara claimed the Speed51.com Hard Charger Award.


Speed51.com will have more from Cherokee Speedway, including video highlights on the Speed51 Video Network. To subscribe to the Speed51 Video Network, click here.


For an on-demand replay of Sunday’s Trackside Now coverage from Cherokee Speedway, click here.


-By Rob Blount, Speed51.com Associate Editor – Twitter: @RobBlount

-Photo Credit: Speed51.com


Carolina Clash Mike Butler Memorial

Cherokee Speedway, Gaffney, South Carolina

Unofficial Results

Pos # Driver
1 22 Chris Ferguson
2 2C Joey Coulter
3 09 Johnny Pursley
4 87 Ross Bailes
5 55H Benji Hicks
6 421 Anthony Sanders
7 00 Jeff Smith
8 2 Dennis Franklin
9 39 Greg Clark
10 29 Larry Grube
11 23 Jimmy MacNamara
12 03 David Yandle
13 27 James Plemmons
14 2E Jason Edison
15 18 Brett Hamm
16 70 Craig Hurndon
17 57 Adam Yarbrough
18 42 Doug Sanders
19 357 David Todd


Fergy Crushes Carolina Clash at Place Your Momma Warned You About