Father Beats Son in Lacrosse Speedway’s Season Opener

With the country dealing with the coronavirus situation for the past two months, everyone has been itching to see some live sports action. NASCAR recently got the ball rolling on that with races at Darlington and Charlotte. Now that Wisconsin’s Safer-at-Home order has been lifted, we all can get out and enjoy some racing at our home tracks. A beautiful chamber of commerce day welcomed back race fans to the LaCrosse Speedway for the long overdue kick off of the 2020 racing season. The NASCAR Late Models has a couple dramatic moments in their first feature of the new year, but Steve Carlson stayed ahead of the drama to claim the victory.


The Old Dutch 25 lap feature for the NASCAR Late Models had to do a ‘take two’ after a spin by Dean Cornelius (New Prague, MN). Pole sitter Cole Howland (La Crosse, WI) shot past Jerimy Wagner (Onalaska, WI) to assume command of the race. While Howland and Wagner began to edge away from the pack, Steve Carlson (West Salem, WI) motored his way up to third by lap five. Carlson began to slowly reel in the lead pair. Hooked up on his patented outside lane, Carlson charged past both Wagner and Howland to take over the top spot on lap nine. As the first three runners pulled away from the field, yellow flew with ten to go. Brad Powell (La Crosse, WI) spun on the front straight and tagged the inside wall hard. Chaos ensued on the restart as Howland lost it in turn four. Several front runners including Adam Degenhardt (Coon Valley, WI), Matt Henderson (La Crosse, WI), Nick Clements (Onalaska, WI) and Kyle Kirberger (Ramsey, MN) suffered major damage to abruptly end their race days. Steve Carlson would have new challengers to deal with on the restart with his own son Mike Carlson (West Salem, WI) and Nick Murgic (Rosemount, MN). As Carlson began to pull away from them, yellow came out again with three to go for a spin in turn two by Devyn Stocker (Farmington, MN). Steve Carlson would pull away on the final restart to drive away with another opening day feature win. Mike fought off the challenges of Murgic to take second.


The Sportsmen feature saw one of the most dramatic finishes in LaCrosse Speedway history. Dave Edwards (Salem, WI) dove under Jack Litshiem (LaCrosse, WI) coming out of turn four on the final lap, both collided coming to the checkered and spun out after crossing the finish line. The nose of Litshiem’s car crossed the finish line first to claim the victory.


Brandon Gallagher stayed ahead of last year’s championship drivers to score the win in the Hobby Stock feature. Kris Berg’s sudden loss of power with five laps to go in the Hornet feature was a big break for Jimmy Bjorkman as his drove off with his first win of the season. John Huebner drove past Jonahtan Burbach with five laps to go to score the Mini Van feature win in the championship car from last season.


The first Novelty event of the season was a battle between Hornets and Mini-Vans to see who did the best job of driving backwards and spinning out of reverse. Despite popping a tire while he spun, Jonathan Burbach got the best crowd reaction to win the Novelty event.


Action continues next Saturday, June 6 with the Late Models, Sportsmen and Hobby Stocks, plus the Street Stocks will make their season debut. Gates open at 6:00, qualifying begins at 6:15 and racing takes the green flag at 7:30. For more information about LaCrosse Speedway or the 2020 schedule of events, please call the office at 608-786-1525 or visit lacrossespeedway.com. LaCrosse Speedway is proud to be a NASCAR Hometrack, part of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series.



Tobacco Outlet Plus Grocery NASCAR Late Models
Feature: 1. Steve Carlson, 2. Mike Carlson, 3. Nick Murgic, 4. Steve Bachman, 5. Adam Bendzick
Heat 1: 1. Cole Howland, 2. Chad Walen, 3. S. Carlson
Heat 2: 1. Michael Haggar, 2. Bachman, 3. John Heath
Heat 3: 1. Carter Christenson, 2. Devyn Stocker, 3. Don Turner
6-For-6 Dash: 1. M. Carlson, 2. Brad Powell, 3. Nick Clements
Qualifying: 1. Jacob Goede, 2. Murgic, 3. Matthew Henderson


Lawnkeepers Sportsmen
Feature: 1. Jack Litshiem, 2. Dave Edwards, 3. Chris Skrede, 4. Mark Challet, 5. Jesse Green
Heat: 1. Litshiem, 2. Edwards, 3. Challet
Qualifying: 1. Chris Skrede, 2. Edwards, 3. Challet


Auto Value Hobby Stocks
Feature: 1. Brandon Gallagher, 2. Jason Bolster, 3. Kaleb Hardy, 4. Austin Schott, 5. Tyler Stuber
Heat: 1. Bolster, 2. Gallagher, 3. Hardy
Qualifying: 1. Bolster, 2. Hardy, 3. Gallagher


ANT’s Complete Pest Control Hornets
Feature: 1. Jimmy Bjorkman, 2. Cheyanne Stanfield, 3. Dexter Malin, 4. Kris Berg, 5. Marc Luethe
Heat 1: 1. Berg, 2. Marc Luethe, 3. Justin Schleitzche
Heat 2: 1. Jake Schomers, 2. Micahel Wachs, Jr., 3. John Huebner
Qualifying: 1. Bjorkman, 2. Cheyanne Stanfield, 3. Jayden Schock


Mountain Dew Mini-Vans
Feature: 1. John Huebner, 2. Chris Larson, 3. Keith Larson, 4. Jonathan Burbach, 5. David Treu, Jr.
Heat: 1. Huebner, 2. Matt Moore, 3. Treu, Jr.


Reverse Spin: 1. Jonathan Burbach, 2. Rob Stanfield, 3. Jacob Iverson


-Paul Reichert / LaCrosse Speedway Press Release & Photo

Father Beats Son in Lacrosse Speedway’s Season Opener