FASTRAK Crowns Another First-Time Winner at Friendship

The FASTRAK Racing series made its return to action for the second time of the short 2020 season on Saturday night at Friendship Motor Speedway. 24 drivers showed up to the track for a 40-lap main event and $2,000 on the line.


Both of the FASTRAK events this year have now been won by first-time winners in the series. Layton Sullivan stood tall in victory lane on June 27th at Toccoa Raceway, and Justin Hudspeth won Saturday night’s feature at Friendship.


“It’s awesome,” said Hudspeth. “We had such a great car. My team gave me a great piece to work with tonight.”


Hudspeth, who is no stranger to Friendship Motor Speedway, showed that experience pays off throughout the night as he was able to qualify on the pole and win his heat race which led him to starting on the pole. Despite many restarts throughout the race, it didn’t seem like anyone had anything for Hudspeth, as he was easily able to pull away from the rest of the field each time.


Fresh off of earning his first ever FASTRAK series victory, Layton Sullivan made his first trip to Friendship and followed up his performance nicely, earning a second place finish.


“This was our first time coming here and we didn’t know what to expect,” said Sullivan. “I felt like we had a really good car tonight, but we did not adjust enough for the feature.”


After Sullivan’s hot start to the season, his team has decided to run the rest of the FASTRAK series races and compete for a championship.


“I don’t think we expected to run top two in these first two races, that’s all thanks to the guys that work on this car,” said Sullivan.


Rounding out the top three was Dillon Brown, who struggled in these past few months. Brown was able to pick up three spots on a restart and bounce into the third position.


“I just needed that top to stay clean for more than a lap and a half,” said Brown. “I really think we had something. The track gets so dirty that you would just have to ride along the bottom and wait for the next caution.”


Despite coming up two spots short, Brown said the race felt like a mini victory after finishing in a podium position after a rough few months.


“We’ve been in a Bloomquist car for most of the year and we have struggled really bad, so we went back to our Longhorn this weekend,” said Brown. “Now I feel like we are a turn here and a turn there off. I wish we could go somewhere tomorrow night.”


Now that the first two FASTRAK events are in the books, competitors will look ahead to their next event on August 7th at Ohio Valley Speedway. Drivers will fight for $2,000 once again. Heading into their next race, Layton Sullivan will remain the points leader.


Race fans who missed Saturday’s FASTRAK Racing Series event at Friendship can watch highlights of the race by clicking here or view an on-demand replay of Speed51’s Summer Thunder TV broadcast of the event by clicking here.


-Story by: Blaise Dillner, Speed51 Correspondent

-Photo credit: Speed51 Photo


Unofficial Results – FASTRAK Racing Series

Friendship Motor Speedway – July 11, 2020

  1. Justin Hudspeth
  2. Layton Sullivan
  3. Dillon Brown
  4. Carson Ferguson
  5. Corey Almond
  6. Dan Breuer
  7. Matt Long
  8. Travis Steele
  9. Nick Schlager
  10. Justin Wofford
  11. Cody Cubbage
  12. Sylvan Schuette
  13. Ron Geehring
  14. Chub Gunter
  15. Tristen Love
  16. Ronnie Sissney
  17. Steve Blackburn
  18. Jeffery Johnson
  19. Bryan Mullis
  20. Pat Lindsay
  21. Isaak Love
  22. Daniel Stolte
  23. Matt Glanden
  24. Chris Morrison


FASTRAK Crowns Another First-Time Winner at Friendship