Race fans and race teams can find pertinent information about Saturday’s Night of Champions at Five Flags Speedway (FL) in 51’s Fast Facts below.


Date: Saturday, September 23


Track: Five Flags Speedway


Location: 7451 Pine Forest Rd. Pensacola, FL 35526



Sanction: Southern Super Series / Five Flags Speedway


Last year’s winners: Bubba Pollard (Southern Super Series)  Jeff Choquette (Pro Late Models)


Live coverage: Speed51.com will broadcast both Late Model races via a live pay-per-view video stream. Live video tickets can be purchased for $19.99 by clicking here.


Track phone: 850-944-8400


Primary race sponsors: Deep South Cranes for SSS / Allen Turner Hyundai for Pro Late Models


Tickets: Adults $15, Seniors/Military/Student $12, Children 6-11 $5 and under 5 free


Fast Facts:  Casey Roderick could possibly win both track championships on Saturday, but he’s 33 points back in the track’s Blizzard Series standings.  Roderick has won the last two crowns.  More than likely, he will lock up the Pro Late Model title marking his third at Five Flags.  Bubba Pollard seeks to grab a record third Blizzard Series title. If he wins the race, he’d also be the first driver to win three Blizzard races in a season.  The other championship is in the Southern Super Series standings as Stephen Nasse leads Chandler Smith by 11 points.


Roderick we expect could be doing double-duty come Saturday.  He has three wins this year at Five Flags and is fresh off his first Alabama 200 win.  Roderick has 15 Late Model wins this season.  We think it’s possible that Jeff Choquette could present two cars this weekend as well.  He won last year’s Allen Turner Tune-Up.  Wayne Niedecken Jr. is second in Pro points and if he were to win the championship it would be his eighth at the track.


As a reminder, provisional spots for December’s Snowball Derby and Allen Turner Snowflake 100 are on the line.  The Southern Super Series Champion and the Blizzard Series Champions are locked into the race. The top two in the Pro Late Model points will also be locked in.  If they make each respective race on time then the next driver in points would be eligible back to the 10th spot.  Both races will have a past champion provisional available in December if the driver meets the requirements.


Blizzard / Pro Series Past Champions:

2016  Casey Roderick 

2015  Casey Roderick 

2014  Bubba Pollard

2013  Daniel Hemric

2012  Bubba Pollard

2011  Augie Grill

2010  Chase Elliott

2009  Johanna Long

2008  Josh Hamner

2007  Scott Carlson

2006  Dave Mader III

2005  Eddie Mercer 


Track Champions – Pro Late Model 

2016  Bret Holmes

2015  Ryan Luza

2014  Johanna Long

2013  Garrett Jones

2012  Mike Garvey

2011  DJ VanderLey

2010  DJ VanderLey

2009  Ronnie Smith

2008  Johanna Long

2007  Sammy McMullen

2006  Steve Davis

2005  Brandon Carlson

2004  Eddie Mercer (SLM)

2003  Bubba Naumann

2002  Donald Long

2001  Donald Long

2000  Not Awarded

1999  Not Awarded

1998  Track Closed

1997  Timothy Bryant

1996  Tracy Goodson

1995  Ricky Brooks

1994  Ricky Brooks

1993  Junior Niedecken

1992  Doug Thorpe Jr.

1991  Jamie Prell

1990  Gerald Wilkerson

1989  Bubba Gale

1988  Gerald Wilkerson

1987  Junior Niedecken

1986  Jay Smith

1985  Bubba Gale

1984  Rick Crawford

1983  Roger Keller

1982  Ronnie Sanders

1981  Rick Crawford

1980  Junior Niedecken

1979  Red Farmer

1978  Junior Niedecken

1977  Junior Niedecken

1976  Junior Niedecken

1975  Stewart England

Note: 2004 was the last year before the Super Late Model Blizzard Series.  The track title would shift to the Pro Late Models.  


Allen Turner Tune-Up 100 Winners: 

2016 Jeff Choquette

2015 Derek Thorn

2014 Mike Garvey

2013 Chase Elliott

2012 Mike Garvey

2011 Brandon Bendele

2010 Mike Garvey

2009 Bubba Pollard

2008 Ryan Crane


Blizzard / Pro Series Championship Night Purses:  

SSS – $5,000 to win

Allen Turner Tune-up – $3,000 to win


Blizzard / Pro Series Championship Night Entries: 

No official entry list


Blizzard / Pro Series Championship Night Schedule: 

Friday, Sept. 22nd

3:00 Pits Open

5:00 – 9:00 Open Practice (tires & fuel available until 8pm)


Saturday, Sept. 23rd

10:00 Pits Open; Pre Tech Begins

11:00 Qualifying/Tire Selection Draw (tech station)

11:15 Race Tire Selection (SSS 6) (ATPLM 4)

12:00 noon Drivers/Crew Chiefs Meeting

12:45 – 1:15 SSS Practice

1:20 – 1:50 ATPLM Practice

1:55 – 2:25 SSS Final Practice

2:30 – 3:00 ATPLM Final Practice

3:00 SSS to pre qualifying tech (by group)

3:30 ATPLM to pre qualifying tech (by group)

4:30 SSS Qualifying

5:15 ATPLM Qualifying

6:15 Autograph Session (in Fan Zone)

7:15 SSS Cars to Grid

7:30 Pre-Race Festivities

7:45 Deep South Cranes 125 Blizzard/SSS Championship

Allen Turner Tune-Up 100 PLM Championship


-Text by Elgin Traylor, Speed51.com Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: Speed51.com

Fast Facts: So. Super Series & Allen Turner PLM Finale at Five Flags