Race fans and race teams can find pertinent information about this weekend’s CRA SpeedFest 2018 at Watermelon Capital Speedway (GA) in 51’s Fast Facts below. 


Dates: January 26 – 27


Track: Watermelon Capital Speedway (3/8-mile, D-shaped asphalt oval)


Location: 385 Farmers Market Rd. Cordele, GA 31015


Sanction: Champion Racing Association (CRA)


Purse: $10,000 to Win (SLM), $5,000 to Win (PLM)


Last Year’s Winners: Harrison Burton (SLM) and Casey Roderick (PLM)


Media Coverage: Speed51.com will provide a live, pay-per-view broadcast of Sunday’s feature races. Live video tickets can be purchased for $24.99 by clicking here.


300x250 SpeedFest PPV 2018.01.27-02Tickets:  Friday – Adults GA $15, Adults Reserved $20, Kids 6-12 GA $10, Kids 6-12 Reserved $15


Saturday – Adults GA $25, Adults Reserved $30, Kids 6-12 GA $15, Kids Reserved $30


Two-Day Pass – Adults GA $35, Adults Reserved $40, Kids 6-12 GA $20, Kids 6-12 Reserved $40


Pit Passes: Friday – Adults $35, Kids 6-12 $15


Saturday – Adults $40, Kids 6-12 $20


Two-Day Pass – Adults $70, Kids 6-12 $30


Track Phone: (229) 938-8814


Fast Facts: It was announced earlier this week that the weekend schedule would be pushed forward due to a questionable weather forecast.  Sunday’s feature races are now scheduled to take place on Saturday afternoon, with practice and qualifying taking place on Friday. Jeff Choquette is a two-time SpeedFest winner and will be looking for his third win in the event. Despite only one win at SpeedFest, Bubba Pollard has six top-10 runs in nine starts.  He has completed all but 18 laps since the race was moved to its current location in Cordele, GA. Harrison Burton is the defending winner of the race and will be looking to join NASCAR stars Chase Elliott and Kyle Busch as the only back-to-back winners of the race. Erik Jones ended his bad luck runs at SpeedFest with a second last year after leading 23 laps.  Jones is back looking to win the race for the first time. Chris Koslek will make the trip to Georgia to run the Pro Late Model race for the second time.  His last trip was in 2012. Casey Roderick won 17 Pro Late Model races last year including the SpeedFest event.  Chris Dilbeck might have more laps around Watermelon Capital Speedway than any other driver.  Dilbeck ran the old GAS Series in Cordele and has run countless Outlaw Late Model races to beef up his lap total. Canadian Raphael Lessard will make his first start of the season behind the Kyle Busch Motorsports No. 51 entry.  Australian Bronson Butcher is also entered and hopes to become the first driver from Australia to start a CRA event.


Former SpeedFest SLM Winners:

2017 Harrison Burton

2016 Bubba Pollard

2015 Chase Elliott

2014 Chase Elliott

2013 Jeff Choquette

2012 Kyle Busch

2011 Chase Elliott

2010 Kyle Busch

2009 Kyle Busch

2008 Jeff Choquette

2007 Eddie Hoffman

2006 Mike Fritts

2005 Charlie Menard


Former SpeedFest PLM Winners:

2017 Casey Roderick

2016 John Hunter Nemechek

2015 John Hunter Nemechek

2014 John Hunter Nemechek

2013 Chase Elliott

2012 Chase Elliott

2011 Chase Elliott

2010 Greg Simpson

2009 Greg Simpson


SpeedFest ARCA/CRA Super Series Entry List (As of 1/19/18):

5 Jerry Artuso
07 Corey LaJoie
9 Jeff Choquette
10 Steve Dorer
11 Jordan McCallum
12 Harrison Burton
14 Carson Hocevar
14X Connor Okrzesik
17 Josh Brock
18 Casey Roderick
19 Brandon Jones
20 Jack Dossey III
20J Erik Jones
20S Anthony Sergi
23 Bronson Butcher
24 Mason Diaz
26 Bubba Pollard
26S Chandler Smith
32 Stuart Dutton
51 Stephen Nasse
51L Raphael Lessard
56 Jeff Gordon
58 John Coffman
58F Jeff Firestine
71 Cayden Lapcevich
79 Kyle Bryant
81 Chase Purdy
83 Scotty Ellis
98 Justin Ashburn


SpeedFest JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour Entry List (As of 1/19/18):

1 Josh Adkins
3 Shane Chastain
4 Kyle McCallum
7 Billy Nipper
9 Chris Dilbeck
9C Jeff Choquette
10 Steve Dorer
17 Josh Brock
17H Blais Hetznecker
18 Casey Roderick
19 Brandon Jones
20 Jack Dossey III
21 Ryan Herbert
21J Brandon Johnson
22 Brandon Herbert
23 Chris Koslek
23S Eddie Stewart
24 Christopher Tullis
26 Bubba Pollard
27 Joe Ross
32 Harold Crooms
35 Jake Garcia
38 Hunter Byrd
41 Hayden Sprague
41H Taylor Holdaway
43 Justin South
64 David Strode
71 Dawson Fletcher
76 Jerick Johnson
78 Corey Heim


CRA SpeedFest 2018 Event Schedule: 

Friday, January 26 (All Times Local)

8 a.m. – Pits Open

10:30 a.m. – Late Model Open Practice

12:30 p.m. – Late Model Pre-Tech Opens

2:30 p.m. – Pro Late Model Final Open Practice

2:45 p.m. – Super Late Model Final Open Practice

3 p.m. – Late Model Open Practice Ends / Race Tires Released for Scuffing

3 p.m. – Pro Late Model Happy Half Hour

3:30 p.m. Super Late Model Happy Half Hour

4 p.m. – Legends / Bandolero Practice & Qualifying

4:15 p.m. – Pro Late Models to Tech

5 p.m. – Super Late Models to Tech

5:30 p.m. – Pro Late Model Qualifying

6:15 p.m. – Super Late Model Qualifying

7 p.m. – Qualifying Ends

8 p.m. – Track Closed



Saturday, January 27 (All Times Local)

7 a.m. – Gates Open

8 a.m. – Hauler Removal Begins (All haulers must be removed by 9:30 a.m.)

9:30 a.m. – Pro and Super Late Model Driver’s Meeting

10 a.m. – Super Late Models to Tech

11 a.m. – Chapel Service

11:45 a.m. – All Cars Must Be Gridded

12 p.m. – Autograph Session

1 p.m. – Driver Introductions

1:30 p.m. – Racing Begins

Legends Feature (20 Laps or 20 Minutes)

Bandolero Feature (15 Laps or 15 Minutes)

JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour Pro Late Model Feature (125 Laps)

ARCA/CRA Super Series Super Late Model Feature (200 Laps)



-Text by Brandon Paul, Speed51.com Editor

-Photo credit: Speed51.com

Fast Facts: CRA SpeedFest 2018 at Watermelon Capital Speedway