Race fans and race teams can find pertinent information about this weekend’s 44th Annual Icebreaker at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park (CT) in 51’s Fast Facts below. 


Dates: April 6-8, 2018


Track: Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park (5/8-mile, high-banked oval)


Location: 205 E Thompson Rd, Thompson, CT 06277


Sanction: NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, Pro All Stars Series (PASS), Valenti Modified Racing Series & NASCAR Whelen All-American Series


Purse: NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour – Not Posted, Pro All Stars Series – $19,575 ($3,200 to win)


Last Year’s Winner: Rowan Pennink (NWMT) & Eddie MacDonald (PASS)


Speed51.com Coverage: Speed51.com will provide Trackside Now coverage of both Saturday and Sunday’s racing events. Video highlights from the Pro All Stars Series and Valenti Modified Racing Series will also be available on the Speed51 Network.


Two-Day Tickets: Adults – $50, Seniors – $45


Pit Passes: Friday – $15, Two-Day (Saturday & Sunday) – $55


Track Phone: (860) 923-2280


Track Website: www.thompsonspeedway.com


Series Website: www.nascarhometracks.com, www.proallstarsseries.com, www.themodifiedracingseries.com


NWMT Fast Facts: Defending Icebreaker winner Rowan Pennink will make his return behind the wheel of the legendary No. 3 Modified after missing the season opener (back surgery) at Myrtle Beach. Despite not planning to compete full-time in 2018, Jon McKennedy enters the Icebreaker as the NWMT points leader. Ryan Preece will be making his first NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour start of the season after missing Myrtle Beach due to his NASCAR XFINITY Series schedule with Joe Gibbs Racing. Despite his stellar resume in Tour-type Modifieds, Preece has never won the Icebreaker. 2010 Icebreaker winner Bobby Santos, 2011 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion Ron Silk, 2016 RoC Modified Series champion Patrick Emerling, Max Zachem and Matt Swanson are among the other entered drivers who will be making their first NWMT start of the season. Following a runner-up finish at Myrtle Beach with the TS Haulers No. 6 car, Jimmy Blewett will enter the Icebreaker in his family-owned No. 76 ride.


PASS Fast Facts: Although he is not current on the entry list, defending PASS North champion Travis Benjamin is expected to begin his title defense this weekend at Thompson. We also wouldn’t be surprised to see defending race winner Eddie MacDonald and crew show up to defend their race win.  Derek Ramstrom, a former Pro Stock champion at Thompson, is always a favorite when Super Late Models visit the Connecticut oval. 2017 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Maine State champion Reid Lanpher is on the entry list and will begin his 2018 season at Thompson.  North Carolina driver Kodie Conner will be making the trip north to compete at Thompson for the first time. This will be the third straight year that PASS North has kicked off its season at the Icebreaker.


Former Icebreaker NWMT Winners: 

2017 Rowan Pennink
2016 Timmy Solomito
2015 Doug Coby
2014 Justin Bonsignore
2013 Mike Stefanik
2012 Ronnie Silk
2011 Ted Christopher
2010 Bobby Santos III
2009 Ted Christopher
2008 Eddie Flemke
2007 James Civali
2006 Mike Stefanik
2005 Ted Christopher
2004 Ted Christopher
2003 Chuck Hossfeld
2002 Jerry Marquis
2001 Rick Fuller
2000 Not Run
1999 Mike Ewanitsko
1998 Mike Stefanik
1997 Rick Fuller
1996 Steve Park
1995 Tom Cravenho
1994 Charles Pasteryak
1993 Jeff Fuller
1992 Jeff Fuller
1991 Rick Fuller
1990 Tony Hirschman
1989 Mike McLaughlin
1988 Mike Ewanitsko
1987 Jimmy Spencer
1986 Charlie Jarzombek
1985 Richie Evans
1984 Greg Sacks
1983 Greg Sacks
1982 Richie Evans
1981 Richie Evans
1980 John Rosati
1979 Ron Bouchard
1978 Ron Bouchard
1977 Bugs Stevens
1976 Eddie Flemke
1975 Ron Bouchard
1974 Fred Desarro
1973 Ed West
1972 Ollie Silva
1971 Bob Santos


Former Icebreaker PASS Winners: 

2017 Eddie MacDonald
2016 Garrett Hall


44th Annual Icebreaker NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Entry List:

(As of April 2, 2018)

Car # Driver
01 Melissa Fifield
1 Burt Myers
2 Doug Coby
3 Rowan Pennink
6 Ryan Preece
7 Jon McKennedy
07 Patrick Emerling
14 Blake Barney
15 Chase Dowling
16 Timmy Solomito
18 Ken Heagy
20 Max Zachem
21 Ronnie Williams
22 Kyle Bonsignore
23 Joe DeGarcia
24 Andrew Krause
25 Calvin Carroll
26 Gary McDonald
33 Wade Cole
36 Dave Sapienza
38 Manny Dias
44 Bobby Santos III
46 Craig Lutz
51 Justin Bonsignore
57 Andy Seuss
58 Eric Goodale
63 Austin Pickens
64 Rob Summers
75 Chris Pasteryak
76 Jimmy Blewett
78 Walter Sutcliffe Jr.
82 Woody Pitkat
85 Ron Silk
89 Matt Swanson
95 Kyle Soper
97 Bryan Dauzat


44th Annual Icebreaker PASS North Entry List:

(As of May 27, 2018)

Car # Driver
00 Jimmy Renfrew, Jr.
1X Todd Stone
2 Gabe Brown
4 Ben Rowe
12G Derek Griffith
21NY Brandon Turbush
28 Greg Nanigian
35 Derek Ramstrom
45 Kodie Conner
59 Reid Lanpher
60 DJ Shaw
93CT Ray Christian III
94 Garrett Hall

Icebreaker Weekend Schedule: 

Friday, April 6 (All Times Local)

10 a.m. – Guest Registration Opens

12 p.m. – Haulers Enter, Pit Area & Pro Shop Open

12 p.m. – Driver Registration Opens

1 p.m. – Rotating Practice (Three Rounds)

  • Mini Stocks
  • Limited Sportsman
  • Pro Trucks
  • Late Models
  • Sportsman
  • Sunoco Modifieds
  • Lite Modifieds
  • Valenti Modified Racing Series

7 p.m. – Estimated Completion Time


Saturday, April 7 (All Times Local)

7 a.m. -Driver & Guest Registration Opens

7 a.m. – Haulers Enter (All Except NWMT)

7:30 a.m. – NWMT Registration Opens

9 a.m. – Valenti Modified Racing Series Practice

9:30 a.m. – Pro All Stars Series Practice

10 a.m. – Final Rotating Practice (Local Divisions)

11:20 a.m. – Final VMRS Practice

11:30 a.m. – NWMT Haulers Enter

11:50 a.m. – PASS Final Practice

12:15 p.m. – Pre-Race Ceremonies

To Follow – NEMA Lite Qualifying Races (8 Laps)

To Follow – VMRS Qualifying Races (10 Laps)

To Follow – PASS Qualifying Races (10 Laps)

To Follow – Sunoco Modified Qualifying Races (8 Laps)

To Follow – Limited Sportsman Qualifying Races (8 Laps)

To Follow – Late Model Qualifying Races (8 Laps)

To Follow – Mini Stock Qualifying Races (6 Laps)

To Follow – VMRS & PASS Consolation Races (12 Laps, If Necessary)

2:45 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. – NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Practice

To Follow – NEMA Lites Feature (20 Laps)

3:55 p.m. – 4:40 p.m. – Final NWMT Practice

To Follow – EXIT Realty Pro Truck Challenge Race (35 Laps)

5 p.m. – Prime Rib Dinner Buffet (Raceway Restaurant)

To Follow – Valenti Modified Racing Series Feature (50 Laps)

To Follow – EXIT Realty 375 Sportsman Challenge Race (35 Laps)

To Follow – Lite Modified Race (20 Laps)

7 p.m. – Estimated Completion Time


Sunday, April 8 (All Times Local)

8 a.m. – NWMT & Guest Registration Opens

10 a.m. – Grandstands Open

11 a.m. – Fan Appreciation Party (On Track)

11:15 a.m. – Driver Q&A (Victory Lane)

12:15 p.m. – Pre-Race Ceremonies

12:30 p.m. – Sunoco Modified Feature (30 Laps)

To Follow – PASS Feature (100 Laps)

To Follow – Limited Sportsman Feature (20 Laps)

To Follow – Late Model Race (25 Laps)

2:45 p.m. – NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Qualifying (Group)

To Follow – Mini Stock Feature (15 Laps)

3:45 p.m. (Approx.) – NWMT Icebreaker 150


-Text by Brandon Paul, Speed51.com Editor

-Photo credit: Speed51.com

Fast Facts: 44th Annual Icebreaker at Thompson (CT)