Familiar Face in Victory Lane for ULTIMATE Northeast Kickoff

The ULTIMATE Northeast Super Late Model Series kicked off its 2020 season on Saturday at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex (PA).  While the venue was a new one for the touring series, it was a familiar face in victory lane at night’s end.


Jared Miley, the series’ only champion and winningest driver following its first two seasons of existence, picked up the win in the 2020 season opener for his sixth career win in the series.


While Miley knows what it takes to win with ULTIMATE Northeast, Saturday’s race was anything but a walk in the park.  First, he needed a good start to stay in front of a field of hungry competitors.


“Starting from the pole, I knew it was going to be a long race,” Miley told Speed51.  “The track was a little choppy in one and two, so we were trying to get a good jump on the start there.  We were able to do that.”


Then, the Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania native encountered lapped traffic, as well as a challenge from last year’s ULTIMATE Mid-Ohio Valley and ULTIMATE Heart of America championship runner-up, Ryan Montgomery.


At one point, Miley and Montgomery were three-wide while battling for the lead, sandwiching Brian Booze between their duel.  The leaders would escape without incident, with Miley hanging on to the top spot.


“It did get a little close around lapped traffic,” said Miley.  “It was a little dusty.  It got me off a little bit for a few laps.  Ryan got up beside us there.  When he did that, I moved up a little bit, and the car was really good.”


Montgomery finished second, with Drake Troutman completing the podium.  Tim Senic and Dan Angelicchio rounded out the top five in the season-opening event.


Race fans who missed Saturday’s race can watch highlights of the event by clicking here.


The ULTIMATE Northeast Super Late Model Series’ next scheduled event is July 4 at Latrobe Speedway (PA).  Stay tuned to Speed51, the Official Video Home of the ULTIMATE Northeast Super Late Model Series, for news regarding that event and the series.


-Story by: Zach Evans, Speed51 Content Supervisor – Twitter: @ztevans

-Photo credit: Speed51 Photo


1. Jared Miley
2. Ryan Montgomery
3. Drake Troutman
4. Tim Senic
5. Dan Angelicchio
6. Andrew Wylie
7. Mike Benedum
8. Brian Booze
9. Kirk Baker
10. Andy Spooner
11. James Otto
12. Dylan Lewis

Fast Qualifier – Jared Miley
Heat winners – Jared Miley, Ryan Montgomery
Hard Charger – Ryan Montgomery
Hard Luck Award – Dylan Lewis

Familiar Face in Victory Lane for ULTIMATE Northeast Kickoff