Allentown, PA – The first Indoor Auto Race being held in Allentown, PA in 50 years has produced a great deal of excitement among racers and fans. Tickets are selling rapidly for the Saturday, January 2nd event being held for the first time inside the PPL Center. An impressive list of entries for the headline TQ Midget and Slingshot division for the Ironton Telephone sponsored event were filled months ago.

“The response for the first Allentown Indoor race has been tremendous,” said show organizer Len Sammons. “Fans are buying tickets and we maxed out at 110 race cars, 80 TQ Midgets and 30 Slingshots. There just isn’t any more pit space for more race cars. We’re sure that the fans will see a show they’ll remember for a long time.”

The TQ Midget list includes past LSMP Indoor event winners include Ted Christopher of Plainville, Ct., Lou Cicconi. Jr., of Lester, Pa., Andy Jankowiak of Buffalo, N.Y., Mike Lichty of Innerkip, Ontario, Canada, Joey Payne of Fair Lawn, N.J., Erick Rudolph of Ransomville, N.Y. and Anthony Sesely of Matawan, N.J.

Vahlco Racing Wheels, a heavy hitter in the racing wheels market, is posting the $10,000 Perfect Performance Bonus if a driver can sweep the three 2016 TQ Midget feature events. After Allentown the Indoor Auto Racing Championship Series fueled by VP Racing Fuels heads to Atlantic City, N.J’s Boardwalk Hall on Saturday, January 30, 2016 and at Trenton, N.J.’s Sun National Bank Center on February 27, 2016.

The 2016 TQ Midget point champion will again receive $2,000. With money offered to the top five in the points, consistency over every single lap is key. Drivers will earn points for qualifying, heat races and feature events.

In 2015, Erick Rudolph was the Series champion. He was actually tied for most points by Ryan Flores but won the title on a tiebreaker. Andy Jankowiak and Ted Christopher remained in contention until final turn of the last lap of the Gambler’s Classic Indoor finale.

Thanks to Bob Hilbert Sportswear the driver that circles the tight 1/10 mile concrete oval the fastest during the afternoon time trial session will receive a $100 cash award. Additionally, the winners of the six TQ Midget heat races will be get some extra cash courtesy of All American Property Maintenance.

The Slingshot division has a new series sponsor. These ‘Mini-Modifieds’ will officially be the “Slinger Warehouse Slingshot” division at all three 2016 Indoor Racing events.

Slinger Warehouse was recently purchased by Stephen Svanda, a racer devoted to the success of the division whose base of operations is near the PPL Center in Allentown. Slinger Warehouse representatives will be on hand at the event with needed parts and tires for the racers competing.

Lehigh Valley area Slingshot entrants include David Carraghan of Emmaus, Cody Kline of Bangor, Tim Roeder of Emmaus, Kurt Bettler of Hellertown and Kenneth Reeder of Lehighton.

Lehigh Valley, Pa., area drivers expecting to compete for the TQ Midget victory include Brandon Azzalina of Saylorsburg, Pat Bealer of Slatington., Louie Horvath of Walnutport, Matt Janisch of Nazareth, Stephen Nederostek of Walnutport. Earl Paules of Palmerton, Matt Roselli of Brodheadsville, and Ryan Smith of Kunkletown.

Tickets for the Allentown race are available exclusively through PPLCenter online, by phone at 610-347-TIXX, or in person at the Mealey’s Furniture Box Office located on 7th & Hamilton St. at PPL Center.

-Ernie Saxton Press Release.  Photo Credit: Pete MacDonald Photo

Excitement Building for First Allentown Indoor Race