Everage Wins Final Tune-Up for Kalamazoo Klash

Kalamazoo, MI — Craig Everage picked up his first victory of the season Friday night in what was the final chance for Outlaw Super Late Models to tune up for August 7th’s Kalamazoo Klash. Everage held off a hard charging Tyler Roahrig, Steve Needles, Marty Crawford and two -time champion Mark Shook to pick up the victory. Point leader Doug True led the second half of the top ten over 1995 Late Model Sportsman champion Billy Shannon, Intimidator 100 winner Adam Terry, defending champion Todd Harrington and Rick Senneker. Notable finishers included Andrew Brest and Matt Frazier, who finished 12th and 13th respectively. 2011 champion Phil Bozell was the fastest qualifier while heat race wins went to Terry and Frazier. True continues to lead an incredibly close championship battle over Terry (-35), Harrington (-45), Brest (-45), Senneker (-48), Everage (-63), Frazier (-99) and Shannon (-148).

Brandon Zachary set quick time in the Street Stock class, started deep in the field and make a thrilling late race pass to collect the win. Heath Bronkema finished an impressive second beating out three-time Outlaw Super Late Model champion Mike “Bubba” Brooks, defending champion Greg Brown and Bug Schisler. Bob Miller finished sixth ahead of point leader Kyle Ribble, Barry Jenkins, Jon Beach and Jerry Ballard. Brown and Ribble collected the heat race victories. Entering the month of August, Zachary and Ribble are now in a dead heat for the championship, with Zachary currently holding the tiebreaker by account of having two feature victories to Ribble’s one.

The Outlaw FWD’s put on arguably the most exciting race in the classes history with Adam VanAvery emerging victorious after a thrilling late race duel. Drew Losey was the runner-up beating out Paul Bittle, Jeff Sayles and Pete Doxey. Wayne Stack finished sixth ahead of John Munro, 2015 Zoo Stock champion Brock Sweeter, Jeremy Campbell and Nick Layman. Notable finishers included point leader Corey Woods who finished 16th and fast qualifier Gabe Carr, who finished 20th. Heat race wins went to Sayles and Munro. VanAvery’s victory coupled with Woods troubles results in VanAvery now leading the points by just six markers over Woods with Doxey (-33), Carr (-128) and Losey (-136) still within striking distance.

The Auto Value Non-Winged Super Sprint Series made their second and final visit to Kalamazoo this year with Bobby Santos emerging victorious over Kody Swanson, fast qualifier Kyle O’Gara, Caleb Armstrong and Russ Gamester. Jason Blonde led the second half of the top ten over Tyler Roahrig Taylor Ferns, Tony Main and Christian Kohler. O’Gara, Gamester and Kohler picked up the heat race wins.

This Friday, August 2 action continued with “Big Bucks Night”. The Late Model Sportsman and Street Stocks will both race for $1,000 to win while the Outlaw FWD’s and Zoo Stocks will run for $500 to win. The Outlaw Super Late Models will have the night off as they get ready for the 27th annual Kalamazoo Klash on Wednesday, August 7.
About Kalamazoo Speedway
Kalamazoo Speedway will be the place to be in 2019 for fast, clean, family fun! Kalamazoo Speedway plays host to some of the best entertainment events in the state and welcomes corporate groups, family outings and suite rentals. Call 269-692-2423 Monday through Friday to learn more or visit the Kalamazoo Speedway website.

For all the latest news and contests check out www.facebook.com/KalamazooSpeedway.

You can also follow Kalamazoo Speedway at www.twitter.com/kzoospeedway.

All-Star 75 Results:

    1. Craig Everage
    2. Tyler Roahrig
    3. Steve Needles
    4. Marty Crawford
    5. Mark Shook
    6. Doug True
    7. Billy Shannon
    8. Adam Terry
    9. Todd Harrington
    10. Rick Senneker
    11. Brandon Lyons
    12. Andrew Brest
    13. Matt Frazier
    14. Chris Highbaugh
    15. Phil Bozell
    16. Jesse VanAvery
    17. Kevin Sauer
    18. Rick Hahn
    19. Bill Tomlinson
    20. Dave Sensiba
    21. John Hudson


-Kalamazoo Speedway Press Release
-Photo Credit: Trackside Racing

Everage Wins Final Tune-Up for Kalamazoo Klash