CLARKSVILLE, TENNESSEE — The MARS Super Late Model Racing Series would conclude its opening weekend of racing for 2018 season on Saturday with the final night of the 14th Annual Tuckasee Toilet Bowl Classic at Clarksville Speedway in Clarksville, TN and Dennis Erb, Jr. of Carpentersville, IL would etch his name in the record books once again by claiming the $5,000 victory for his third triumph in the event.


The winning mount driven by Erb, Jr. carries sponsorship from Rhino Ag, J.R. McBride Leasing, McBride Mack, Ideal Ready Mix, M and M Painting and Construction, Deegan’s Truck and Auto Repair, and VoMac Trucking. Erb’s #28 entry is a Black Diamond Race Car powered by a Clements Race Engine.


The initial start of the 40 lap, $5,000 to win main event would be a struggle as four caution flags would wave for various spins before action would get going. Erb, Jr. would take the race lead on the opening lap, with Jason Jameson, Tanner English, Tim Manville, and Caleb Ashby giving chase. However, the caution would wave again on lap four when Charles Zimmerman would spin his entry in turn four. Erb, Jr. would lead the restart, while Jameson and English would battle for the second position until Jameson secured the spot on lap six. Fred Perry, Jr. would draw the next caution on lap eight after spinning his machine in turn four. The restart would see Erb, Jr. scoot away from the field and increase his charge at the front and was set to start the process of working slower traffic on lap thirteen when the caution waved once again as David Seibers mount would slow on the frontchute and Seibers would pull pitside for the event. Back underway, Erb, Jr. again would maintain the race lead until caution for debris on the track in turn four would be the next culprit to slow the competition.


The restart would see Erb, Jr., Jameson, and English maintain the top three positions, while Manville and Austin Rettig would begin a side-by-side battle for the fourth position on laps nineteen and twenty until another caution for debris would appear in turn two. Erb, Jr. would begin to put some distance on the field on this restart, while English pressured Jameson for the runner-up position and the leader would start approaching slower traffic again on lap twenty-eight as Rettig would work past Manville for fifth on the same circuit, but Manville would draw the final caution of the event one lap later when his machine would slow on the frontchute and would be done for the night. Erb, Jr. would pull away on the final restart and build a comfortable lead over the remainder of the contest and drive to the race victory, with Jameson settling for the runner-up spot, while English would complete the podium finishers in the third position. Rettig would finish in the fourth position, while Greg Gokey would complete the top five. The remainder of the top ten finishers would be Levi Ashby, Dean Carpenter, Caleb Ashby, Clint Nichols, and Gavin Schmidt.


The MARS Super Late Model Racing Series next events will be at Belle-Clair Speedway in Belleville, IL on Friday May 4 and Fayette County Speedway in Brownstown, IL on Saturday May 5. Both events will pay $3,000 to win.


Further information on the MARS Super Late Model Racing Series can be obtained by calling Promoter/Race Director Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official series website at


Official Summary of Results


Feature Results for MARS Super Late Model Racing Series at Clarksville Speedway in Clarksville, TN on March 3, 2018

  1. Dennis Erb, Jr.- Carpentersville, Ill.
  2. Jason Jameson- Lawrenceburg, Ind.
  3. Tanner English- Benton, Ky.
  4. Austin Rettig- Sikeston, Mo.
  5. Greg Gokey- Buckley, Mich.
  6. Levi Ashby- Cumberland Furnace, Tenn.
  7. Dean Carpenter- Coldwater, Miss.
  8. Caleb Ashby- Cunningham, Tenn.
  9. Clint Nichols- Shelbyville, Tenn.
  10. Gavin Schmidt- Tennessee Ridge, Tenn.
  11. Credence Mott- Vienna, Ill.
  12. Roben Huffman- Clinton, Ill.
  13. Tim Manville- St. Jacob, Ill.
  14. Steven Ashby- Cunningham, Tenn.
  15. Larry Greer- Bowling Green, Ky.
  16. Fred Perry, Jr.- Central City, Ky.
  17. Drew Wilkerson- Ravenna, Mich.
  18. David Seibers- Chapel Hill, Tenn.
  19. Robert Ardry- Lavergne, Tenn.
  20. Charles Zimmerman- Cunningham, Tenn.
  21. Scott Cook- Shelbyville, Tenn.


-MARS Racing Series Press Release

-Photo Credit: MARS Racing Series

Erb, Jr. Captures MARS Tuckasee Toilet Bowl Classic