Entries Already Flying in for Jukasa’s $75,000 Late Model Race

The inaugural Canadian Short Track Nationals at Jukasa Motor Speedway took the short track world by storm with its massive $50,000 (CAD) payday and its strong list of entries featuring some North America’s best drivers.  Now, with an increased purse for this year’s version, entries are already flying in for all over the continent.


While there are still five months until the second running of the Canadian Short Track Nationals, entries are starting to pour in from Canada and the U.S. for the now 250-lap race on September 1, 2019.  The race will have a purse of $300,000 for 2019, including $75,000 ($56,347 USD) to the winner.  The Hagersville, Ontario track announced during last year’s event that the purse would increase every year until 2021, when the purse would be a staggering one million dollars.


Three champions currently top the entry list for the Canadians.  Former Serie ACT champion Patrick Laperle is entered, coming off a fourth-place finish in last year’s event.  Defending APC United Late Model Series champion JR Fitzpatrick and two-time NASCAR Pinty’s Series champion DJ Kennington are also entered and are armed with experience in NASCAR’s national series.


Ontario is well-represented in the early entry list for the Canadian Short Track Nationals.  Along with Fitzpatrick and Kennington, 1994 Oxford 250 winner Derek Lynch is also entered.  They are joined by Patrick Freel, Gary Adriaensen, Jordan Howse, Bill Pearsall, Taylor Holdaway, Shane Maginnis, and Shae Gemmel.


Western Canada is represented by Tyler Emond, Kyle Reid, and Chris Reid from Alberta, as well as Saskatchewan’s Matthew Shirley.  Eastern Canada is represented by Nova Scotia’s Austin MacDonald, who’s coming off a top-five finish in the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing Pro Late Model points standings at New Smyrna Speedway (FL).


A strong American contingent is led by two drivers from the Wolverine State of Michigan.  Last year’s runner-up Carson Hocevar will be back in hopes of finishing one spot better and taking the big check back to Portage, while Nunica’s Johnny VanDoorn will be looking to add another big race to his list of career accolades that include three ARCA/CRA Super Series champions.  They are joined by former PASS North and PASS National champion Cassius Clark from Maine and Texas veteran Chris Davidson.


With registration opening up just two weeks ago, a total of 20 drivers are already entered for the race.  More entries are expected to be received at a rapid pace as the September 1 race day inches closer.


Drivers interested in competing in the race can file their entry form online today by clicking here.


-Story by: Koty Geyer, Speed51.com State Editor (IN & MI)

-Photo credit: Speed51.com


Canadian Short Track Nationals Entry List (As of 4/3/19)

  1. #18 – Patrick Freel, London On. – Simtech Supply Chain Management
  2. #55 – Gary Adriaensen, Belmont, On. – Dowler-Karn Fuels
  3. #8 – Jordan Howse, Hillsburgh, Ontario – Paul Howse & Associates
  4. #38 – Bill Pearsall, Puslinch, Ontario – Ponderosa Nature Resort
  5. #18 – Tyler Emond, Leduc, Alberta – Alco & Alco Smart Roughneck System
  6. #42 – Kyle Reid, Fort McMurray, Alberta – Robby’s Towing
  7. #2 – Chris Reid, Fort McMurray, Alberta – Ella Mae Energy Services
  8. #41 – Taylor Holdaway, Orillia, On – Holdaway Automotive
  9. #12 – Matthew Shirley, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan – R&R Rentals
  10. #84 – JR Fitzpatrick, Cambridge, On. – TBA
  11. #28 – DJ Kennington, St. Thomas, Ontario – WMI Race Cars
  12. #14 – Chris Davidson, PEARLAND, Texas – Davidson Electric Company
  13. #13 – Cassius Clark, PICTOU, NS – King Racing Competition Parts & Fabrication
  14. #13m – Austin MacDonald, PICTOU, NS – King Racing Competition Parts & Fabrication
  15. #14 – Carson Hocevar, Portage, MI – KBR Development
  16. #71 – Johnny VanDoorn, Nunica, MI – TK Racing
  17. #13 – Shane Maginnis, Hagersville, On – High Reach Cranes
  18. #15 – Derek Lynch, Warkworth, On – HASIUK TRAILERS
  19. #3 – Shae Gemmel, Dorchester, On -North Country Property Maintenance Inc.
  20. #91 – Patrick Laperle, St Denis sur Richelieu, Quebec – Frameco

Entries Already Flying in for Jukasa’s $75,000 Late Model Race