Jeff Taylor of Farmington nailed down his first victory of the season in dominant fashion, outrunning all AIM Recycling USA PASS North Super Late Model rivals as the touring series closed out its’ 2015 championship season Sunday afternoon at Oxford Plains Speedway.


An eighth-place finish was plenty good enough for Maine Hall of Fame racer Mike Rowe to add yet another championship to his extensive short track racing resume, this one the AIM Recycling USA PASS North Super Late Model title.


Rowe, who is also the winningest driver in the history of Oxford Plains Speedway and a seven-time track champion in the top class, had previously won PASS South and PASS National titles, but this was his first Pro All Stars Series championship won on native Maine pavement.


Rowe’s title comes in his first year driving for Petit Motorsports.  The team had competed for several seasons with several drivers, never finding victory lane until hooking up with Rowe for the 2015 campaign.  The Rowe/Petit Motorsports combination went to victory lane three times en route to their championship.


For Taylor, a nine-time track champion in the top class at Oxford Plains Speedway, it was an emotional victory, the first since the passing of his father, Conrad, in January.


“It took us until the last race of the season, but we did it,” the winner said, wrapping up a salute to his dad, always instrumental in the operation of the wildly-successful race team.


Taylor started the race from the pole, inheriting the first heat race win when Trevor Sanborn and Gunnar Rowe both were too low in post-race technical inspection.


Taylor swapped the race lead with Dixfield’s Scott Robbins in the early stages of the 150-lapper, but soon started to pull away from the field, opening up a half-lap lead over a torrid battle for second position between Robbins and Jay’s Dave Farrington, Jr.


When a late-race caution flag set up a two-lap shootout, Taylor had a comfortable cushion of lapped cars to maintain his lead.  Farrington managed to hold on to second position despite being spun at the checkered flag, with a flat tire.


Oxford 250 champion Glen Luce of Turner drove from 16th starting position to an impressive third-place finish.  Robbins ended up with a fourth-place finish, with 2015 Oxford Plains Speedway Super Late Model Champion Timmy Brackett of Buckfield rounding out the top five.


Joey Doiron of Berwick, Reid Lanpher of Manchester, Mike Rowe of Turner, Scott Mulkern of Falmouth and Waterford’s Spencer Morse filled out the top ten.  The race attracted 44 entrants, with 35 cars starting the 150-lap main event.


OPS Mods champion Ryan Robbins prevailed in the 30-lap championship finale for the PASS touring Modifieds, outrunning Lebanon’s Mike Carigan to the checkered flag.


Andy Shaw of Center Conway, New Hampshire successfully defended his PASS Modified title, driving the Sumner Sessions 0.  Shaw claimed the third-place race trophy, following Robbins and Carigan under the checkered flag.  Newburgh’s Scott Alexander, who ended up five points behind Shaw in the season-long rankings, finished fourth, with the top five filled out by Westbrook’s Matty Sanborn.


Cory Hall made the long trip home to Jolicure, New Brunswick a happy ride after winning the 25-lap Legends Cars main event.  Hall inherited the lead when Ryan Kuhn pitted after losing a muffler while leading.  Kuhn made a late charge from the rear of the field to finish up in second position.


Colby Meserve of Buxton celebrated his birthday with a third-place finish.  Brandon Packard of Bridgewater, Massachusetts and Windham’s Dillon Varney rounded out the top five.  Kuhn, of East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, won the Legends Cars heat race.


Jamie Heath of Waterford led all but the last 100 feet in the 15-lap Mini-Stock race, and still was declared the winner after Jimmy Childs failed to make it through post-race inspection.  Brady Romano of Livermore Falls was the runner-up behind Heath, with Auburn’s Kevin Varney claiming the third-place trophy.


Unofficial results from Championship Day for the Pro All Stars Series North; Oxford Plains Speedway; Oxford, Maine; Sunday, October 4, 2015. (Finishing position, car number, driver’s name, home town.)



AIM Recycling USA Pro All Stars Series North Super Late Model presented by Kenny U-Pull (150 laps) 1 88 Jeff Taylor, Farmington; 2 23 Dave Farrington, Jr., Jay; 3 7 Glen Luce, Turner; 4 36 Scott Robbins, Dixfield; 5 60 Timmy Brackett, Buckfield; 6 73 Joey Doiron, Berwick; 7 59 Reid Lanpher, Manchester; 8 7 Mike Rowe, Turner; 9 84 Scott Mulkern, Falmouth; 10 0 Spencer Morse, Waterford; 11 77 Trevor Sanborn, Parsonsfield; 12 48 Bobby Timmons, Windham; 13 09 Jeremy Davis, Tamworth, NH; 14 00 Bryan Kruczek, Newmarket, NH; 15 54 Johnny Clark, Farmingdale; 16 33 Richie Dearborn, Hollis; 17 15 Mike Hopkins, Hermon; 18 14 Scott McDaniel, Livermore; 19 44 Rusty Poland, Windham; 20 71 Raphael Lessard, St-Joseph Beauce, Quebec; 21 72 Chris Coolidge, Norway; 22 75 Gary Smith, Bangor; 23 42 Corey Bubar, Windham; 24 25 Shawn Knight, South Paris; 25 94 Shawn Martin, Turner; 26 40 Dan McKeage, Gorham; 27 16 Travis Stearns, Auburn; 28 4 Ben Rowe, Turner; 29 53 Alan Wilson, Hebron; 30 19 John Rideout, Washington; 31 46 Dennis Spencer, Jr., Turner; 32 09 Mike Landry, Oakland; 33 73 Adam Polvinen, Auburn; 34 61 TJ Brackett, Buckfield; 35 24 Gunnar Rowe, Turner.


PASS Mods (30 laps) 1 36 Ryan Robbins, Dixfield; 2 21 Mike Carigan, Lebanon; 3 0 Andy Shaw, Center Conway, NH; 4 17 Scott Alexander, Newburgh; 5 2 Matt Sanborn, Westbrook; 6 05 Ron Henry, New Gloucester; 7 25 Bruce Helmuth, Wales.


Legends Cars (25 laps) 1 08 Cory Hall, Jolicure, New Brunswick; 2 72x Ryan Kuhn, East Bridgewater, MA; 3 92 Colby Meserve, Buxton; 4 21x Brandon Packard, Bridgewater, MA; 5 80 Dillon Varney, Windham; 6 21 Parker Varney, Windham; 7 72 Michael Humphrey, Cornish; 8 29 Austin Teras, Windham; 9 96 Richard Humphrey, Parsonsfield; 10 4 Thomas Everson, Gilmanton Iron Works, NH; 11 27 Roger Edgecomb, Hiram.


Mini Stock (15 laps) 1 20 Jamie Heath, Waterford; 2 83 Brady Romano, Livermore Falls; 3 1 Kevin Varney, Auburn; DQ 5 Jimmy Childs, Leeds.



– Oxford Plains Speedway press release

– Photo credit: Norm Marx/

Emotional Taylor Takes PASS Finale, Rowe Claims Title