Oswego, NY — The Ferris Mowers Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Series fueled by Sunoco made a stop at the legendary Oswego (N.Y.) Speedway this past Saturday night for the Richie Evans Memorial 61 and when the checkered flag waved Orchard Park, N.Y.’s, Patrick Emerling stood tall in victory lane.


“Things just went our way tonight,” explained Emerling following the victory. “Our teammate Mike Leaty had the car to beat and the way things worked out he got to the lead and it looked like he might hold us off. Then he developed a problem and we were able to get by him for the lead. We have a great team and Jan Leaty gave me a great setup for tonight. We are going to enjoy it and to honor the best that ever raced a modified with a win in his race is a great feeling. We are going to enjoy this one.”


Daryl Lewis, Jr., of Ontario, N.Y., started on the pole and led the early stages of the event before Mike Leaty of Williamson slipped into the lead on lap 10. Leaty held the lead until he began to smoke from the right side of his machine. Internal engine issues would sideline Leaty during the race. Emerling, who started 6th, picked up the top spot on lap 32 with Matt Hirschman, of Northampton, Pa., and the defending Series Champion in tow.


Hirschman made a couple of attempts to overtake Emerling, but it was to no avail.


Hirschman finished second for the second straight race, followed by Austin Kochenash (3rd), Bryan Sherwood (4th) and Jimmy Zacharias (5th).


Patrick Emerling set the fastest time during the group time trials for the second consecutive event. Due to the condensed scheduled created by inclement weather which delayed the start of the event by several hours the qualifying races were cancelled.


The next event for the Race of Champions is Saturday, May 21 at Lancaster National Speedway in Lancaster, N.Y.


-Race of Champions Press Release

-Photo Credit: Speed51.com/Duane Canfield


Feature Finish

Pos            Driver              Laps

1.)      Patrick Emerling 61

2.)      Matt Hirschman 61

3.)      Austin Kochenash 61

4.)      Bryan Sherwood 61

5.)      Jimmy Zacharias 61

6.)      Nick Pecko 61

7.)      Daryl Lewis 61

8.)      George Skora 61

9.)      Tommy Catalano 61

10.)   Tyler Rypkema 61

11.)   T.J. Potrzebowski 61

12.)   Jody Buckley 61

13.)   Amy Catalano 61

14.)   Chris Risdale 52

15.)   John Wilber 45

16.)   Karl Hehr 45

17.)   Mike Leaty 44, Engine

18.)   Andy Lewis 18

19.)   Chuck Hossfeld 9

20.)   Calvin Carroll 2, Accident

21.)   Tony Hanbury 2, Accident

22.)   Daren Scherer 0, Accident


Emerling All Smiles After RoC Victory at Steel Palace