(Editor’s Note: Speed51.com will have live Trackside Now coverage presented by Kiklos Greek Extra Virgin Olive Oil of the 2015 Denny Hamlin Showdown on Thursday, April 23.)


SOUTH BOSTON, VA – 2014 NASCAR XFINITY Series Champion Chase Elliott joins NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver David Ragan and Virginia’s own Timothy Peters as early headliners to race against host Denny Hamlin in the eighth-annual Denny Hamlin Short Track Showdown at South Boston Speedway on April 23. This 200-lap charity Late Model race showcases the best Late Model racers in the region against NASCAR counterparts with event proceeds benefiting the Denny Hamlin Foundation and its on-going support of Cystic Fibrosis research and treatment.


The trio join three more Virginia stock car racing natives Hermie Sadler, Jeb Burton and Gray Gaulding in going to battle against the likes of Late Model drivers Matt Bowling, the 2014 Showdown winner, and CE Falk, who was the first Late Model winner of the Showdown in 2010 at Southside Speedway.


“With a record amount of drivers committed to run the Short Track Showdown, this event looks to be one of the most competitive fields that we have seen,” said Hamlin, another Virginia native who last won the Showdown in 2011 at Richmond International Raceway. “None of these drivers like to lose, they are all as competitive as I am. Anyone of them can make it to victory lane.”


For racing fans wanting to get up-close to the drivers, the first 25 fans to purchase a “Suite Package” priced at $200 will be invited to join the drivers in the infield for the drivers meeting and an exclusive meet and greet with select celebrity drivers that will include autograph signing. (All proceeds from the Suite Package will go to the Denny Hamlin Foundation).


New for 2015, and an experience for the entire crowd to enjoy, Danville Toyota and Scion is sponsoring a fireworks show that will take place immediately following the 200-lap main event.


Advance tickets to the Short Track Showdown are available by calling the track ticket hotline at 1-877-440-1540. A limited amount of the 1,100 advance-discounted tickets are still available for $20. After the first 1,100 advance tickets are sold, the price increases to $25. Children ages 6 and under are free with an Adult ticket purchase. Season passes are not honored for this special event. The “Suite package” costs $200 and includes a meet and greet, autograph signing, and an invitation to the driver’s meeting. For more information, visit the South Boston Speedway website at southbostonspeedway.com and dennyhamlinfoundation.org.


Denny Hamlin Foundation Short Track Showdown Invitee List

(Those in red have confirmed their entry for the event)

OO Brian Pemberton
O1 GR Waldrop
O2 Matt Waltz
O3 Brenden Queen
O4 Bugs Hairfield
O6 Davin Scites
O8 Deac McCaskill
1 Lin O’Neill
1 Burt Myers
2 Myatt Snider
2 Paige Decker
3 Thomas Scott
4 Sergio Pena
4 Adam Reznick
5 Lee Pulliam
6 Bobby McCarty
6 Devon Amos
7 Dude Gibbs
7 Michael Maresca
8 Josh Oakley
8 David Garbo
10 Kelly Kingery
11 Nick Smith
11 Andy Seuss
12 Austin Thaxton
12 Garrett Campbell
12 Ryan Wilson
12 Trey Gibson
15 Dennis Holdren
15 Kres Vandyke
16 Dustin Storm
16 Ryan Preece
17 Stacy Puyear
18 Quinn Houff
19 Chad Finchum
20 Sam Yarborough
20 Gray Gaulding
22 Ryan Stiltner
23 Payton Ryan
26 Danny Edwards Jr.
26 Phillip Morris
27 Tommy Lemons Jr.
28 George Brunnhoelzl III
29 Casey Wyatt
29 Brandon Butler
31 Kaz Grala
34 Dylan Smith
36 Anthony Anders
38 Duane Schreeves
40 CE Falk
41 Brayton Haws
44 Dillon Bassett
44 Justin Johnson
46 Brandon Gdovic
51 Dalton Sargeant
55 Mark Wertz
57 Eddie Johnson
58 Tyler Ankrum
69 Andrew Thomas
71 Stephen Berry
72 Brad Eddy
73 Bruce Anderson
77 Blake Stallings
77 Conner Hall
80 Anderson Bowen
83 Matt Bowling
88 Dustin Rumley
88 Keith Rocco
90 Terry Carroll
91 Justin Carroll
97 Greg Edwards
98 BJ Mackey
99 Peyton Sellers

Elliott, Ragan, Peters Highlight Hamlin Showdown Roster