Dacono, CO – An absolutely gorgeous Colorado evening was the setting for Dacono night at Colorado National Speedway which witnessed the first feature event win for Matt Burton in the Pro Trucks. Chris Eggleston held off Bruce Yackey in the Super Late Models while Michael Cox and Harold Evans were winners in the Super Stocks and Supermodifieds.

Gillet Vet Super Late Models
#11 Darren Robertson and #39 Jack Nugent paced the Gillet Vet Super Late Models for a 40 lap feature event. Nugent who had won the FAST DASH jumped out to an early lead while Robertson fell to 4th. #22 Chris Eggleston and #6 Dominic Ursetta were now running in 2nd and 3rd and gaining on the leader.

Ursetta went low on Eggleston and took the position and began to reel in Nugent for the lead but that’s when bad luck found Ursetta as his right front tire blew and in a shower of sparks made minor contact with the turn 3 wall. Ursetta pulled off under caution fixed the tire and regained the back of the field. Ursetta would ultimately salvage a decent 7th place finish in the feature.

On the restart Eggleston took the lead from Nugent but Nugent wasn’t ready to give it up and made a hair-raising pass to jump back out front.

Another restart and another great jump for the 22 car as Eggleston once again beat Nugent into turn 1 for the lead.

In the late stages of the race it was apparent that Nugent was getting loose and gave up 2nd place to #12 Bruce Yackey who wanted his shot at Eggleston for the lead but it was too little, too late as Eggleston cruised to the win with Yackey directly behind in 2nd place. Nugent held on for 3rd, #66 Darren Bucklan finished 4th, and #11 Darren Robertson was 5th.

FEATURE WINNER: #22 Chris Eggleston
FAST DASH: #39 Jack Nugent
DASH: #55 Jesse Runkle
QUICK TIME: #6 Dominic Ursetta 16.276

Snap-On Tools Pro Trucks
Once again the Snap-On Tools Pro Trucks showed up with a great field of 16 trucks and with so many fast drivers it’s really anyone’s race to win in this division.

Right out of the gate youngster AJ Warren in the black #2 truck took a large lead on the field in the feature event. With 5 laps in the books #06 Adam Hilton began to pressure Warren for the lead and when the two drivers made slight contact #36 Matt “the Pebble” Burton pounced on the lead.

Burton had come all the way from 8th starting spot in the main event to lead but now it was his turn to try and hold off Hilton for the top spot. Burton showed his determination holding off Hilton who began to get loose and gave up 2nd place to #34 Rudy Vanderwal.

Several late race caution flags forced Burton to lineup next to Rudy for a double-file restart but it was Burton’s night as he never allowed Vanderwal to gain the advantage.

Burton went on to win his first ever feature event at CNS and it turned out to be a crowd pleaser based on the reaction from the fans. Vanderwal settled for 2nd, #31 Justin Simonson was 3rd, #51 David Johnson finished 4th and #52 Jereme Wall finished 5th.

FEATURE WINNER: #36 Matt Burton
FAST DASH: #11 Steve Johnson
DASH: #10T Taylor Bellomy
QUICK TIME: #06 Adam Hilton 16.883

NTC Logistics Super Stocks
#3 Michael Cox jumped out to a huge lead in the Super Stock feature event but all eyes were on the battle for 2nd place between #05 Troy Witthar, #19 Brent Miller, and #88 David Rothrock as these 3 cars were banging doors and trading paint lap after lap.

With 9 laps to go the caution came out when #23t Anton Trainer spun in turn two which setup an intriguing double-file restart. When the green flag flew it became a two car race between Cox and rookie Brent Miller who was giving the leader a great fight.

At the finish it was Cox taking the win and Miller close behind in 2nd place. #88 David Rothrock was 3rd with #0 Andrew Muse in 4th. The final spot in the top 5 was #32 Brett Yackey.

FEATURE WINNER: #3 Michael Cox
FAST DASH: #3 Michael Cox
DASH: #32 Brett Yackey
QUICK TIME: #88 David Rothrock 19.811

ERA Supermodifieds

The Supermodifieds made their first appearance of the 2014 season at CNS and they brought out a great field of 14 cars. Longtime Legend driver Kyle Ray debuted his bright orange #58 Supermod and promptly set quick time and won the FAST DASH.

The feature event was marred by a 30 minute delay when #14 Joe Gallegos lost an oil plug and laid down several coats of oil on the track. When the cleanup was complete multi-time champion Harold Evans in the #3 car got around #33 Chris Sheil to take the win. #40 Nick Haygood was 3rd and Ray was 4th.

Colorado Speeway PR – Photo (Starr Photo)

Super Late Models

Pos No. Name Hometown Laps
1. 22 Chris Eggleston Thornton CO 40
2. 12 Bruce Yackey Greeley, CO 40
3. 39 Jack Nugent Lafayette, CO 40
4. 66 Darren Bucklan Greeley, CO 40
5. 11 Darren Robertson Westminster, CO 40
6. 27 Roger Avants Littleton, CO 40
7. 6 Dominic Ursetta Arvada, CO 40
8. 33 Emett Grazier Wheatridge, CO 40
9. 55 Jesse Runkle Lakewood, CO 40
10. 31 Rick Smith Gering, NE 40
11. 21 Odie Robertson Northglenn, CO 40
12. 91 Chris Atkinson Cheyenne, WY 40
13. 76 Gary Coate (R) Highlands Ranch, CO 26
14. 37 Derek Murphy Co Springs, CO 23

Pro Trucks

Pos No. Name Hometown Laps
1. 36 Matt Burton Englewood, CO 30
2. 34 Rudy Vanderwal LaSalle, CO 30
3. 31 Justin Simonson Wheatridge, CO 30
4. 51 David Johnson Denver CO 30
5. 52 Jereme Wall (R) Commerce City, CO 30
6. 29 Matthew Brunker Lakewood, CO 30
7. 45 Dalton Hewitt Brighton CO 30
8. 55 Dave Hunt Hudson, CO 30
9. 2 AJ Warren Longmont, CO 30
10. 82 Michael Scott (R) Cheyenne, WY 30
11. 14 Alex Ortiz (R) Denver CO 28
12. 06 Adam Hilton Brighton CO 27
13. 5 Troy Witthar Eastlake, CO 27
14. 10T Taylor Bellomy(R) Brighton CO 24
15. 11 Steve Johnson Windsor, CO 17

Super Stocks

Pos No. Name Hometown Laps
1. 3 Michael Cox Englewood, CO 25
2. 19 Brent Miller(R) Brighton, CO 25
3. 88 David Rothrock Commerce City, CO 25
4. 0 Andrew Mues Arvada, CO 25
5. 32 Brett Yackey Greeley, CO 25
6. 02 Darrell Smith Littleton, CO 25
7. 23 George Gallegos Lakewood, CO 25
8. 8 Dave Gee Loveland CO 25
9. 05 Troy Witthar Eastlake, CO 25
10. 9 Curtis Heldenbrand Arvada, CO 25
11. 15 Brent Cave Thornton CO 24
12. 69 Derick Brugger(R) Northglenn, CO 23
13. 23T Anton Trainer Boulder, CO 15


Pos No. Name Hometown Laps
1. 3 Harold Evans Littleton, CO 20
2. 33 Chris Sheil Aurora, CO 20
3. 40 Nick Haygood Denver, CO 20
4. 58 Kyle Ray(R) Littleton, CO 20
5. 15 Josh Lewis Aurora, CO 20
6. 13 Ricky Otts 20
7. 27 Roger Avants Littleton, CO 19
8. 1 Jason Castor 19
9. 51 Joe Priselac Commerce City, CO 19
10. 77 Bob Myer Calhan, CO 18
11. 12 Cody Castor(R) Bennett, CO 17
12. 14 Joe Gallegos Castle Rock, CO 5
13. 2 Richard Castor Jr Bennett, Co 5
DNS 7s Stevie Gallegos Castle Rock, CO

Eggleston wins on Dacono night at CNS